Please Enter a Search Term

President honours exceptional faculty and staff

From left are John Tucker, Dr. Proton Rahman, Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie, Dr. Raymond Poirier, Dr. Mani Larijani, Dr. James Connor, Dr. Helene Staveley, Dr. Sean McGrath, Kim Thornhill, Roxanne Preston, Phyllis McCann, Andrew Kim and Lynn Cadigan.


President Gary Kachanoski honoured the university's outstanding educators, researchers and staff members for 2012 at a special ceremony recently.

The recipients of the president's awards for teaching, research, exemplary service and exceptional community service were recognized at an event on Monday, Dec. 10, at the Bruneau Centre on Memorial's St. John's campus.
At the event, Dr. Kachanoski recognized five employees for exemplary service, four faculty members for distinguished and outstanding teaching, four for research, one for graduate and postgraduate student supervision and one for exceptional community service.

This year the range of awards for teaching excellence has been expanded. The President's Awards for Distinguished Teaching have been presented since 1988. However, one of the outcomes of the extensive consultations around Memorial's new Teaching and Learning Framework is the need to better recognize the importance of teaching and student mentoring throughout the university.

Following on a recommendation in the framework, the university created three new teaching awards to be added to the suite of President's Awards that are presented annually.

The new awards include two President's Awards for Outstanding Teaching, one open to faculty members with five to 10 years of service to the university and another for lecturers and instructional staff with a minimum of five course sections taught; and the President's Award for Outstanding Graduate and Postgraduate Student Supervision, open to faculty members with a minimum of five years of supervisory responsibilities who have made exemplary efforts to foster success in the research and scholarship of their graduate or postgraduate students and to advance students' success in their profession.

"Here at Memorial the key to our success is our people and that's why we think it's so important to celebrate our achievements and acknowledge excellence," said Dr. Kachanoski. "We are building a reputation as one of the best, most distinguished public universities in Canada, and we have each of our award recipients – dedicated teachers, researchers and employees – to thank for our contributing growth and development."

The 2012 recipients are Dr. Alistair Bath, Department of Geography, Faculty of Arts, and John Tucker, School of Maritime Studies, Marine Institute, (Distinguished Teaching); Dr. Jim Connor, Discipline of Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine (Outstanding Teaching – Faculty); Dr. Helene Staveley, Department of English, Faculty of Arts, (Outstanding Teaching – Lecturers and Instructional Staff); Dr. David Schneider, Department of Ocean Sciences, Faculty of Science, (Outstanding Graduate and Postgraduate Student Supervision); Dr. Raymond Poirier, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, and Dr. Proton Rahman, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University Research Professors; Dr. Sean McGrath, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts, and Dr. Mani Larijani, Division of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, (Outstanding Research); Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts, (Exceptional Community Service); Lynn Cadigan, Alumni Affairs and Development; Andrew Kim, School of Graduate Studies; Phyllis McCann, Office of the Registrar; Roxanne Preston, Office of Student Recruitment; and Kimberley Thornhill, Marketing and Business Development, Marine Institute (Exemplary Service).