Please Enter a Search Term


Dr. Alan Goodridge, professor of medicine (neurology) will be awarded a 2010 Certificate of Merit Award from the Canadian Association of Medical Education (CAME) for his contributions to medical education at Memorial University. Along with 36 other individuals at Canadian medical schools he will be recognized at the upcoming CAME Annual General Meeting, held in conjunction with the 2010 Canadian Conference on Medical Education in St. John’s May 2. CAME Certificate of Merit Awards promote, recognize and reward faculty committed to medical education in Canadian medical schools.

Honorary research professors Dr. Raoul R. Andersen, Anthropology, and Dr. John K. Crellin, Medicine, are finalists for the Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing for Mi'sel Joe: An Aboriginal Chief's Journey. Mi'sel Joe received an honorary doctor of laws degree from Memorial in 2004. Meanwhile, Birds of Newfoundland Field Guide (Boulder Publications) by Dr. Ian Warkentin of Grenfell College’s Environmental Science Unit and Sandy Newton, has been shortlisted for the Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association Best Atlantic-Published Book Award. The winners will be announced at the 2010 Atlantic Book Awards celebration April 14 in Dartmouth, N.S.

The Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the shortlist for the 2009 Heritage and History Book Award. Memorial honorary graduate Dr. Ray Guy has been nominated for Ray Guy: The Smallwood Years (Boulder, 2008); Grenfell English Professor Dr. Randall Maggs has been listed for Nightwork: The Sawchuk Poems (Brick, 2008); and Dr. George A. Rose, head of Fisheries Conservation with the Fisheries and Marine Institute, was nominated for Cod: The Ecological History of the North Atlantic Fisheries (Breakwater, 2007). The fourth nominee is Agnes Walsh for Going Around with Bachelors (Brick, 2007). The winner of the 2009 Heritage and History Book Award will be announced during the Historic Sites Association’s Water Street Book Club, to be held on Thursday, April 1.