Please Enter a Search Term


Dr. Linda Hensman, director of the School of Pharmacy, was recognized for her contributions to pharmacy by being awarded the James C. Quick Award by the Pharmacists' Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (PANL) during their annual meeting in St. John’s Oct. 3-5. This award recognizes a pharmacist who, in their day-to-day practice, has raised the expectations of what the public can expect from their pharmacist by introducing innovative methods or services into pharmacy care, or who has, by their initiative, broadened the scope of the practice of pharmacy in Newfoundland and Labrador. Two pharmacy students were also recognized. Hany Ellaboudy received the Ralph J. Harris Future of Pharmacy Award and Stephanie Pittman received the PANL Student Spirit Award.

Dr. John Sandlos, assistant professor, Department of History, had his book Hunters on the Margin: Native People and Wildlife Conservation in the Northwest Territories selected as the winner of the 2008 Charles A. Weyerhauser Award for the best book published on forest and conservation history in 2007. The award was presented by The Forest History Society, a non-profit educational institution that links the past to the future by identifying, collecting, preserving, interpreting, and disseminating information on the history of interactions between people, forests, and their related resources.

Dr. Paul Sylvester, a professor in the Department of Earth Sciences, has recently been appointed as a member of Space Exploration Advisory Committee of the Canadian Space Agency, whose role is to advise the agency on scientific priorities for exploration of the planets, comets and asteroids in the coming years. Dr. Sylvester is also co-chairing Planetary Geology and Geophysics at the upcoming Canadian Space Exploration Workshop in December, which aims to solicit and prioritize the best ideas for space exploration from the academics and other researchers around the country (