Please Enter a Search Term


Gary Green, Marine Institute, was given the Canadian Association of College and University Student Services (CACUSS) Award of Honour. This is the highest award that CACUSS gives and was given in recognition of over 30 years of service to students and his profession. In particular it recognized his leadership in organizing events at three different CACUSS conferences over the years.

Ruth North was honoured for her leadership and contributions to Canadian Association of Disability Service Providers in Post-Secondary Education. This award recognizes her leadership, contributions, many years of service and her dedicated commitment to ensuring that students with disabilities receive the services they need to succeed academically.

Dr. Edward Roberts, former chair of the Board of Regents and former lieutenant governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, has been named a Member of the Order of Canada. The appointment was announced by Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, on July 1. Dr. Roberts was appointed for “his contributions as a former cabinet minister and lieutenant governor of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Bradley Russell, vice-president student life of MUNSU was recently honoured by COCA (Canadian Organization of Campus Activities) as Student Programmer of the Year. This national award recognizes the innovative programming that he has led at Memorial. For the past three years Mr. Russell has served as vice-president of student life of MUNSU with a commitment to enhancing the social activities offered to students of Memorial. During his tenure, MUNSU has developed innovative educational programming, revitalized the educational and social activities offered to returning and incoming students each fall, and added to the musical offerings of the Breezeway.

At the May 2009 Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Women’s Studies Association/L’assocation canadienne d’études sur les femmes (CWSA/ACEF), Dr. Katherine Side, associate professor/head, Department of Women’s Studies, was acclaimed president-elect, CWSA/ACEF.