Please Enter a Search Term

In brief

Students elect leaders

MUN's Student Union, MUNSU, held elections on March 17 and 18 and ushered in a slate of new student representatives.

Many of the MUNSU positions were not contested with a single candidate being acclaimed. The acclaimed positions included three of the executive positions including Executive Director of Advocacy, Ryan Marshall, executive director of finance and services, Travis Collins, and executive director of student life, Bradley Russell.

Despite the acclamations, chief returning officer Ron Woodman said it was a successful election with about 2,500 students voting.

Meanwhile, two executive positions were contested. In the important executive director of external affairs position, incumbent Cameron Campbell swept to victory over Melissa Penny by 1880 votes to 484. In the race for executive director of campaigns, Becky Winsor was elected with 1186 votes. Mathew Pike had 684 and Shannon Higdon had 487.

In the lone ballot referendum, students voted down a proposal to increase the per-semester fee paid to the muse from $2 to $4. The vote was 1,411 for the NO side and 967 for the YES. For more, see

Business awards more than $96,000 in scholarships

March 20 was a day of celebration in the Faculty of Business when $96,000 in scholarships and awards were handed out to graduate and undergraduate students at the faculty’s annual Awards Ceremony.

The scholarships honoured students for their academic achievements, volunteerism in the faculty, university and greater community, and international accomplishments.

The ceremony included six new scholarships that were awarded for the first time. The Fagan Scholarship in the Faculty of Business Administration, the San Kroeker Award, the Pinsent Scholarship in the Faculty of Business Administration, the Henry and Royce Meinhardt Memorial Bursary, the Robert Westcott Memorial Scholarship, the Jude Pearson Memorial Scholarship and the Riche Investments Award were all awarded for the first time.

The awards ceremony was also an opportunity to recognize some notable faculty and staff. Dr. Jeffrey Parsons received the Dean’s Research Award in recognition for his exceptional research contribution in the past year, including the publication of an essay in Nature.

Lyle Wetsch, known for his engaging and tech-savvy teaching style, was awarded the Dean’s Teaching Award. Dr. Katherine Gallagher, who is extremely active in the faculty, won the Dean’s Service Award.

Donna Fitzgerald won the Dean’s Service Quality Award for staff in recognition of her exceptional work on behalf of the faculty.

SIFE Memorial faculty advisor Lynn Morrissey was awarded the Dean’s Citizenship Award, a special award given out on occasion to recognize sustained dedication and outstanding contributions to the faculty.

Breen named to Canadian team

Laura Breen of Memorial University has been named to the Canadian women's university soccer team that will travel to Belgrade, Serbia June 30 to July 12 for the 2009 Summer Universiade, commonly referred to as the FISU Games. The top university athletes from all over the world will take part in the Games.

Ms. Breen, a native of St. John's, had an outstanding year in 2008. The striker led the AUS in scoring with nine goals. Her play earned her the conference MVP award, in addition to a place on the first all-star team. For the first time in her four year varsity career Breen was named a first team All-Canadian.

She travelled to Bangkok, Thailand in August 2007 where Canada finished in 10th place.

The FISU Games team was selected from a camp consisting of the top university soccer players in Canada.