Please Enter a Search Term

The fine nine

Honorary degree recipients announced

Memorial will celebrate its 100th regular session of convocation this spring, an event that will include awarding honorary degrees to a stellar group. Memorial will present honorary degrees to nine outstanding individuals during ceremonies in both St. John’s and Corner Brook.

The honourees include: former federal cabinet minister and Nobel Prize nominee Lloyd Axworthy; traditional singer and archivist Anita Best; celebrated author Richard Gwyn; physician and administrator Dr. Linda Inkpen; acclaimed theatre director and instructor Jillian Keiley; anthropologist Dr. Robert Paine; photographer Ben Hansen; environmentalist and broadcaster Dr. David Suzuki; and volunteer and philanthropist Sam Walters.

Honorary degree recipients are chosen by the Senate, the university’s academic governing body, after a very careful examination of the grounds for their nomination.

The honorary doctorate degree is designed to recognize extraordinary contribution to society or exceptional intellectual or artistic achievement. The awarding of honorary doctorates, an important feature of Memorial’s convocation, serves to celebrate both the individual and the university, as well as to inspire graduates, their families and guests.

Sir Wilfred Grenfell College in Corner Brook will hold its spring convocation ceremonies at the Pepsi Centre on Friday, May 15. Meanwhile, convocation runs at the Arts and Culture Centre in St. John’s from Tuesday, May 26 to Friday, May 29.