Please Enter a Search Term


The outreach activities of Memorial’s Leslie Harris Centre of Regional Policy and Development made the cover of the latest issue of University Affairs magazine. The prestigious publication aimed at Canada’s university community featured a five-page article on the Harris Centre’s regional workshops. The workshops, which are being held across the province four times a year, are designed to foster communication, and possible collaboration, between Memorial University researchers and the wider community. As part of its knowledge mobilization mandate, the Harris Centre is also hosting an international conference, Knowledge in Motion 2008, from Oct. 16-18 on Exploring the Role of Higher Education Institutions in Regional Development and Knowledge Mobilization – Learning What Works Best, From Each Other. To view the full article visit

Undergraduate chemistry students recently did the department proud at the APICS chemistry conference, Chemcon 2008, May 8-11 at St. Mary’s University in Halifax. Of the five oral and eight poster presentations contributed by the 13 students attending the conference, four came away with prizes. Best oral presentation was awarded to Jennifer Swyers, organic chemistry, and Nicole Rice, macromolecular science and engineering, while best poster presentation was awarded to Mark Tobin, organic chemistry, and Amy Reckling, inorganic chemistry.

Derek Norman, St. John’s filmmaker and current co-ordinator of the Digital Research Centre for Quantitative Fieldwork in the Faculty of Arts, has been named board member (film) for the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council.

Dr. Fereidoon Shahidi, University Research Professor, Department of Biochemistry, is the recipient of the 2008 Distinguished Service Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS) in recognition of outstanding, dedicated and sustained service to the society’s Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division. The award will be presented to Dr. Shahidi in August 2008 during its 236th meeting in Philadelphia. ACS is the largest scientific society in the filed with over 160,000 members. Dr. Shahidi is also being recognized by the American Oil Chemists’ Society (AOCS) by being inducted a fellow of the society. This award is in recognition of veteran AOCS members whose achievements in science are exceptionally important to the society and to the profession. Dr. Shahidi will receive this award during the 99th AOCS meeting in Seattle in May 2008.

Andrew Vickerson is one of three students in Canada chosen to receive a scholarship from the Aquaculture Association of Canada (AAC). Mr. Vickerson is currently completing a M.Sc. in Aquaculture at Memorial.