Please Enter a Search Term

Gregory J. Power Poetry Competition

The Gregory J. Power Poetry Award was established in the early 1990s and is given annually to a Memorial University student poet. The award is open to all students and is not restricted to those studying in the Faculty of Arts or in the Department of English.

Gregory J. Power was born in Dunville, N.L., in 1909. He was a Member of the House of Assembly for Placentia-St. Mary¹s from 1951 to 1959, serving as both minister of finance and minister of highways in those years. However, this award is in recognition of Mr. Power¹s literary gifts; he twice won the O¹Leary Newfoundland Poetry Awards and published two important books: Gems of Newfoundland Poetry (1967) and The Power of the Pen (1989).

The Jeroboam award was established by the founding members of the student publishing house Jeroboam to honour a poem with a subject unique to Newfoundland and Labrador. The winner of this award is announced annually at the Gregory J. Power Poetry Award ceremony.

The awards are judged by English department faculty members and by the writer-in-residence.

Gregory Power Poetry Awards 2012

  • (l to r) Andy Woolridge, “The Way Night Time Can make a Walk a Journey,” (3rd place); Dana Evely, “Erosion,” & “Alvin” (Winner and Jeroboam Prize)); Jon Aylward, “Catching Up,” (honourable mention); Eva Crocker, “While He was Waiting for Me to Come Home,” (2nd place)

You can also view a list of past Gregory Power Poetry Award Winners.