Honorary Degree

The honorary doctorate degree is designed to recognize extraordinary contribution to the university, society or exceptional intellectual or artistic achievement.

The awarding of honorary doctorates, an important feature of Memorial’s convocation, serves to celebrate both the individual and the university as well as to inspire our graduates, their families and guests.

The Senate, the university's academic governing body, chooses recipients after a careful examination of the grounds for their nomination. Honorary degrees conferred by Memorial University include:

LL.D. - Doctor of Laws

D.Litt. - Doctor of Letters

D. Eng. - Doctor of Engineering

D. Sci. - Doctor of Science

The selection process begins with the nomination. Anyone can nominate or be nominated for an honorary doctorate.

Professor emeritus

A professor emeritus is a retired member of the faculty who has served at least 10 years as a regular full-time faculty member and held the rank of professor upon retirement.

Candidates for the rank of professor emeritus are nominated by their academic units and, as with candidates for honorary degrees, the nominations are then reviewed by the Senate’s Committee on Honorary Degrees and Ceremonial.

The prime criteria for nomination is a sustained and superlative record as a scholar, as a teacher, or as an academic administrator or any combination of these.

Having reviewed the nominations, the committee forwards them to Senate, which recommends them to the Board of Regents.



230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552