President's Report 2006 | Year-in-Review


English professor Shane O'Dea was named to the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Also known for his work at preserving the built heritage of the province, Prof. O'Dea was one of eight named to the Order, now in its second year. Along with Prof. O'Dea, Tim Borlase, Tom Cahill, Desmond Dillon, Susan Knight, Ingeborg Marshall, Deborah Powers and Janet Story received the honour during a ceremony at Government House on Nov. 10.

It was a celebration of Newfoundland and Labrador, in general, and Memorial University in particular under the late autumn colours of the nation's capital. Anyone in Ottawa Nov. 7 with tickets to the fifth annual Affinity Newfoundland and Labrador event had some of the hottest tickets in town. Demand was so great that the event was relocated to the ballroom of the famed Fairmont Chateau Laurier to accommodate the 350 guests. It may have had something to do with the featured guest speaker, Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Danny Williams. The event attracts Ottawa's key business, technology, industry and government representatives, most with Newfoundland and Labrador connections. Funds raised are in support of scholarships at Memorial University.

Dr. Mary Bluechardt was appointed as the director of the School of Human Kinetics and Recreation. Prior to her appointment, Dr. Bluechardt was the national director for coach development at Special Olympics Canada. In this role she established both structure and process to advance coaching development for 9,000 coaches (and 30,000 athletes) in Canada. Dr. Bluechardt also played leadership roles in strategic planning and national accreditation for the 12 provincial/territorial chapters. The Board of Regents approved her appointment at its November meeting. Her term began Jan. 1, 2006.

Paul Boland, a second-year medical student at Memorial University, is the latest Rhodes Scholar from Newfoundland and Labrador. The 23-year-old Corner Brook native attended Sir Wilfred Grenfell College from 2000-01, completing a B.Sc.(Hons) in Biochemistry at the St. John's campus. He has won numerous academic awards including the Governor General's Medal and the University Medal for Academic Excellence in Biochemistry. He was on the SWGC Principal's List 2000-01, the Faculty of Science Dean's List from 2001 to 2003 inclusive and the Faculty of Medicine Dean's List for 2004.