President's Report 2006 |

O'Dea named to Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

Shane O'Dea

English professor Shane O'Dea has been named to the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Also known for his work at preserving the built heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador, Prof. O'Dea was one of eight named to the Order, now in its second year.

Lt.-Gov. Edward Roberts announced the names on Thursday, Oct. 20.

Along with Prof. O'Dea, Tim Borlase, Tom Cahill, Desmond Dillon, Susan Knight, Ingeborg Marshall, Deborah Powers and Janet Story will receive the honour during a ceremony to take place at Government House on Nov. 10.

"The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador honours deserving individuals who have demonstrated, in their respective fields, a level of excellence that has influenced our province positively," said Mr. Roberts. "As the second investiture approaches, I am, once again, astounded by the achievements of these Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. This Order, the highest in the province, is indeed a fitting tribute to their endeavours, and I look forward to bestowing this honour upon them."

Several of the other inductees have strong ties to Memorial University. Tim Borlase is the former director of Memorial's Labrador Institute and an honorary graduate; Susan Knight was awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree in 2004; Ingeborg Marshall is an honorary research associate with the Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER) at Memorial; and Janet Story received a honorary doctor of laws degree in 2004.

Having distinguished himself as a teacher, scholar and preservationist, Shane O'Dea has also gained provincial and national renown for his service to the heritage community of Newfoundland and Labrador. He has been instrumental in researching, documenting and maintaining our architectural heritage.

Premier Danny Williams said that the Order clearly demonstrates the wonderful work that is being done by the people of this province in numerous areas of significance. "I am overwhelmed by the dedication of these men and women to their chosen causes," said the Premier. "They clearly demonstrate their love of this place and of our unique culture in their pursuit of excellence. The commitment of these individuals to Newfoundland and Labrador is truly inspiring and they have created a legacy that is contributing to a brighter future for this province."

The objective of the Order is to recognize individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour that benefits in an outstanding manner Newfoundland and Labrador and its residents. Any person or group may nominate an individual for recognition by the Order.

(Originally posted on on Oct 21, 2005)