About This Report | Feedback | Contact Us



The Leslie Harris Centre of Regional Policy and Development (The Harris Centre) was launched Oct. 1 at a ceremony attended by Dr. Leslie Harris, in whose honour the centre is named. Memorial University's Board of Regents approved the creation of the centre on Sept. 8, 2004. The Harris Centre was formed through the merger of the Public Policy Research Centre (PPRC) and the Centre of Regional Development Studies (CORDS). The centre will build on the solid foundation of research, teaching and outreach established by the PPRC and CORDS. It is tasked with co-ordinating and facilitating the university's educational, research and outreach activities in the areas of regional policy and development.

Economist Dr. Parzival Copes and physicist Dr. Davis Earle were recognized for a lifetime of work during Memorial University's fall convocation Oct. 22. Dr. Copes is perhaps best known in this province for a 1972 study titled The Resettlement of Fishing Communities in Newfoundland which warned of the consequences of unregulated growth in the fisheries industry. Dr. Davis Earle joined a group of fellow scientists in 1984 in planning what would become the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO). The intent was to measure solar neutrinos using heavy water.

International children's rights advocate Craig Kielburger wrapped up Celebrate Memorial 2004 with a lively and passionate presentation to high school students and university faculty, students and staff on Oct. 29 at the Field House.

Lorne Wheeler was appointed the new chair of Memorial's Board of Regents. The announcement was made Oct. 27 by Education Minister Tom Hedderson. Mr. Wheeler graduated from Memorial with a BA (Ed) and a BA, he moved into the public school system where he served as a principal for about 20 years in many schools, including Herdman Collegiate in Corner Brook . He was president of the Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' Association, assistant deputy minister for primary, elementary and secondary education, and deputy minister of education. He's also a former member of the Board of Regents of Memorial, serving in the early 1970s.

Kathy Dunderdale, minister of Innovation, Trade and Rural Development, announced funding for 20 projects under the Industrial Research and Innovation Fund at a news conference Oct. 29 at the St. John's Arts and Culture Centre. The goal of the fund is to enhance research and industrial innovation within higher education and public research institutions in the province. The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador has allocated more than $3 million from the Industrial Research and Innovation Fund to the 20 projects. The total value of the projects is approximately $15 million.

Memorial outstanding alumni were recognized during the 2004 Alumni Tribute Awards in October. Among those acknowledged were: Dr. Robert Roberts, (B.Sc.'61), an internationally renowned cardiac research specialist, for Lifetime Achievement, the top honour that alumni can confer on one of their own; Television personality Krysta Rudofsky (BA'00) for the Horizon Award for lifetime achievement under age 35; Educator and public servant Dr. Leonard Williams (BA '66, BA(Ed.)'66), for Outstanding Professional Achievement; Former Baie Verte mayor William Dixon, (B.Ed.'62, BA '73), for Outstanding Community Service; and Kevin Smith(BA '71, BA(Ed.)'71, M.Ed.'76) and, former director of Memorial's Office of Alumni Affairs and Development, for the J.D. Eaton Award for volunteer service to the university.