About This Report | Feedback | Contact Us

Guthrie honored with teaching award

Jean Guthrie

Jean Guthrie of Memorial's English department was one of three faculty members in Atlantic Canada honored with teaching awards by the Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) Sept. 27.

Prof. Guthrie received the AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Instructional Leadership Award for demonstrating a commitment to the improvement of university teaching within her own institution and beyond.

Teaching excellence awards were also presented to Dr. Janet Hill, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, and Dr. Shirin Haque, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus, and Trinidad.

The AAU's 18 member institutions each proposed nominees for the annual AAU Faculty Development Awards. The winners were selected by the AAU's Co-coordinating Committee on Faculty Development.

The AAU (www.atlanticuniversities.ca) represents the 17 universities in Atlantic Canada and the University of West Indies.

The AAU is an advocate for the important role Atlantic universities play in preparing future leaders of our communities, in path-breaking research and innovation and in contributing to the economic prosperity and quality of life of the Atlantic region.