About This Report | Feedback | Contact Us

President honoured as top leader

(L-R) Drs. Wade MacLauchlan, Sheila Brown, Axel Meisen and Colin Dodds.

Dr. Axel Meisen was named one of the region's Top 50 chief executive officers by Atlantic Business magazine at a ceremony in May 2005. He was one of four academic leaders from Atlantic Canada accorded this recognition.

Also recognized at the May 11 ceremony in Halifax were Wade MacLauchlan, president of the University of Prince Edward Island; Dr. Colin Dodds, president of Saint Mary's University; and, Dr. Sheila Brown, president of Mount Saint Vincent University.

Nominations for the Top 50 CEOs in Atlantic Canada are submitted by readers of Atlantic Business magazine and nominees are judged according to their corporate, community and industry involvement; their organization's growth in recent years; and their responses to various managerial challenges. Winners were profiled in the May/June issue of Atlantic Business.

Memorial University has recorded a number of significant successes during Dr. Meisen's tenure. In relation to industry, a new oil and gas development partnership was launched, with Memorial establishing itself as a premier university in oil and gas studies and research. New programs have been created, including a master's program in oil and gas studies. In other areas, a master's program in music, a doctoral program in education and a diploma program in police studies have been created. Over the past five years, research funding from external agencies has more than doubled rising from $30 million to $80 million and Dr. Meisen is striving to ensure that Memorial's annual research funding can reach $100 million per year by 2010. "While being named to the Top 50 CEOs by Atlantic Business magazine is recognition of my activities, it is also recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of the university as a whole," said Dr. Meisen. "Memorial University has effective leaders throughout the organization, who make it one of the most exciting universities anywhere.

"I particularly want to acknowledge the strong support of our provincial government and the people throughout our great province. With their continued support, Memorial University will become widely recognized as one of the great universities of the world, known for its ingenuity and creativity. Their support will also enable the university to play a key role in the transformation of the province's economy." In addition to the leadership of their respective institutions, all four award recipients are actively involved in the leadership and the advocacy agenda of the Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU). Dr. Meisen is chair of the AAU; Prof. MacLauchlan, is past chair; Dr. Dodds serves as chair of the Council of Nova Scotia University Presidents (CONSUP), while Dr. Brown is a past chair of both CONSUP and the AAU Regional Coordinating Committee on Faculty Development.

Other CEOs honoured by Atlantic Business included several Memorial University alumni: Jerry Byrne, president and CEO, D.F. Barnes Ltd. (B.Eng.'77); Neil Chaulk, president and CEO, ICAN (B.Eng.'89); Ann Marie Hann, CEO, Workplace, Health, Safety and Compensation Commission (B.Comm.'81; MBA'83); Ken Marshall, regional president, Atlantic, Rogers Cable Communications Inc. (B.Comm.(Hons.)'84; MBA'85); Karl Smith, president and CEO, Newfoundland Power Inc. (B.Comm.'81); and Robert G. Steele, president and CEO, Newfoundland Capital Corporation (BA'84).