www.mun.ca | about this report | contact  
Vital Signs
Campus Life
Honour Roll

Going further than what's expected

Beyond what's expected. That's the best description for many of the outstanding people who worked, studied or were associated with Memorial this past year. Amazing students, accomplished staff members, and outstanding teachers, researchers and alumni are just some of the people who helped us go further.

Engineering professor appointed NSERC/Petro-Canada Chair

Dr. Cecilia Moloney, professor of electrical and computer engineering at Memorial, was appointed the new NSERC/Petro-Canada Chair for Women in Science in Engineering (CWSE) for the Atlantic Region. This is the second consecutive CWSE at Memorial University; the first was held by Dr. Mary Williams, also of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. Dr. Moloney plans to introduce new initiatives to encourage all women interested in science and engineering careers. She will continue working on factors affecting entry and retention, as well as issues related to values and motivation, self-image, ways of knowing and work-life balance. Dr. Moloney said her vision for the chair is based on fostering the wholeness of the human individual, which for many women and girls means following their interests and talents into participation in science and engineering.

National award for food services director

Memorial's director of Housing, Food and Conference Services, Dr. Brian Johnston, was recognized with the highest honour bestowed by the Canadian College and University Food Services Association (CCUFSA). Dr. Johnston was presented with the Gord G. Mann Distinguished Service Award at the CCUFSA annual conference this past summer. Peers from across the country recognized Dr. Johnston for his leadership, willingness to mentor others, creativity in developing partnerships with caterers and his commitment to fostering student involvement in food service planning. Most recently, Dr. Johnston was integral to the renovations to the student dining hall in Paton College and negotiation of a new partnership with the university caterer, Chartwells.

High honour for Memorial researcher

Dr. Ronald Rompkey of the Department of English was named an officer of the Order of Canada, an honour for lifetime achievement in this country. Dr. Rompkey was recognized for his outstanding work as a scholar of Canadian studies, especially of Newfoundland and Labrador, and for being an advocate for the arts and cultural industries, both on a provincial and national scale. His recent book, Terre-Neuve: anthologie des voyageurs français, 1814-1914, is a collection of French travel literature culled from the letters and journals of 19th-century visitors to Newfoundland who were associated with the French fishing industry. The book provides a collection of writing from naval officers, diplomats, scientists, journalists and others intent on interpreting the island and its growing population.

Outstanding Students

Amazing Students at Memorial

Last year, the Office of Student Affairs and Services launched the Amazing Students program to recognize undergraduate and graduate students who stand out in both academics and community life. One such example is biology student Aaron Grant. Aside from doing his honours thesis in breast cancer research, Aaron is a student ambassador, peer orientation volunteer and past president of the Biology Student Society.

Outstanding Alumni

Alexander Hickman

Stephen Kent

Wayne Thistle

Rick Hillier

Dawn Howse

Alumni achievement awards

Five extraordinary alumni were honoured this past year. Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award was the Hon. T. Alexander Hickman, OC, QC, for his achievements in the study of law as a lawyer, politician and judge and in recognition of his service to the people of the province. Stephen Kent, mayor of Mount Pearl and CEO of Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Eastern Newfoundland, was awarded the Horizon Award for Lifetime Achievement (under age 35 years). Former Memorial vice-president (administration and finance) and legal counsel, Wayne Thistle, QC, accepted the J.D. Eaton Award for outstanding volunteer service to the university. Lt.-Gen. Rick Hillier received the Outstanding Professional Achievement Award for his service to the Canadian military, the United Nations and NATO. Maj. Dr. G. Dawn Howse, chief medical officer of the Salvation Army Tshelanyemba Hospital in Zimbabwe, received the Outstanding Community Service Award for her selfless commitment to the people of war-torn Zimbabwe.

Memorial professor and alumna among best 40 under 40

Dr. Proton Rahman, alumnus and associate professor of medicine at Memorial, was named one of Canada's Top 40 Under 40 for 2003. Dr. Rahman is a clinician scientist with a strong research interest in genetics and prognosis of rheumatic disease. He is also a consultant rheumatologist for the Health Care Corporation of St. John's and chief scientific officer for Newfound Genomics. His discoveries in the genetics of psoriatic arthritis have been universally incorporated into investigators' gene mapping strategies. Alumna Isabella Pain, Inuit Affairs Officer, Voisey's Bay Nickel Co., Nain, Labrador was also named in the Top 40 Under 40. Thirteen years ago she joined the Labrador Inuit Association's land-claims negotiation team. In 2000 Ms. Pain was named co-chief negotiator on the team for the Labrador Inuit Association that recently negotiated a final deal between the province and the federal government.

Memorial stands out in new provincial order

Some of the province's outstanding community leaders were recognized in the summer of 2004 as the first members of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Dr. Edward Roberts, lieutenant-governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, spoke highly of the recipients. "Each of them has made an outstanding contribution to our province and they fully deserve the recognition. They are symbols of the very best of our people and our heritage." Awards were presented by the lieutenant-governor to the following Memorial University alumni: Front row (L-R) - Edgar Baird, Susan Patten, Premier Danny Williams, Lieutenant Governor Edward Roberts, Linda Peckford and Joanne MacDonald. Back row (L-R) Paul Johnson, Dr. James Tuck, Henry Shouse, Gary Graham and Dr. Otto Tucker. All are active contributors to the local community. Memorial faculty member and notable archaeologist Dr. James Tuck was also recognized for a lifetime of achievement in the field of archaeology in Newfoundland and labrador.

{Printer Friendly}