Terms of Reference



(As of May 10, 2018)

1. The J.R. Smallwood Foundation for Newfoundland and Labrador Studies has been established with funds transferred in trust by the J.R. Smallwood Heritage Foundation to Memorial University, which is required “to use the income there from in perpetuity for the promotion and support of research in Newfoundland studies in the areas of the Humanities and Social Sciences including, without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the award of fellowships and research grants.” It is understood that in accordance with the wishes of the Smallwood Heritage Foundation funds may be disbursed in support of research and scholarship inside and outside the university community.

2. (a) The Smallwood Foundation will be governed by a Director and Executive Committee. Normally eight tenured or tenure track faculty members (the number of non-tenured members normally not exceeding four) will be appointed on a three-year term (renewable for one further consecutive term) by the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences. As the Director's term expires, the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences will make appointments and reappointments, following consultation with the current Executive Committee.

(b) Executive Committee members will normally belong to the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at Memorial University, and will be drawn from disciplines active in Newfoundland and Labrador studies.

(c) In addition, there will be the following ex officio members:

The Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences

The Director (non-voting)

3. The Director will serve as Chair of the Executive Committee.

4. (a) The activities of the Smallwood Foundation will be managed by a Director, who will be appointed for a three-year term. The Director may be reappointed.

(b) The Director of the Smallwood Foundation shall be appointed (or reappointed) by the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences, following consultation with the Executive Committee.

(c) The Director shall be a scholar with demonstrated expertise in Newfoundland and Labrador studies, and will follow policies and directives as established by the Foundation’s Executive Committee.

5. The Executive Committee of the Smallwood Foundation will be responsible for the administration of the funds at its disposal; for their disbursement in the promotion and support of research as may be decided from time to time. The Executive Committee may also undertake to revise and reprint the Encyclopedia should this be thought necessary. The Executive Committee will submit a annual report at the end of every academic year to the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences.

6. The Executive Committee of the Smallwood Foundation will meet twice a year.

7. Decisions shall require a majority vote of those in attendance.

8. The Foundation’s Executive Committee may make amendments to these terms of reference, so long as notice of the proposed amendments is given in writing, and they are approved by two-thirds of the members present and voting. Such amendments also require the approval of the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences.