Jahrul Alam

Dr. Alam received a BSc (Honours) & MSc degree (in Applied Mathematics) from the Chittagong University of Bangladesh; he completed an MSc degree (in Computational Fluid Dynamics) from the University of Alberta and a PhD degree (in Turbulence) from McMaster University. With a postdoctoral research experience in Atmospheric Modelling from the University of Waterloo, he joined Memorial University in August 2008, where he is now an Associate Professor. In the past, Dr. Alam also served as a Lecturer/Assistant Professor in Shah Jalal University of Science and Technology, Bangladesh.

Dr. Alam’s research is on large eddy simulation (LES) of atmospheric turbulence, particularly in the boundary layer processes lying at the broader context of atmosphere-land-ocean interaction, where relatively small scale processes (<10km) exhibit intermittent turbulent bursts; however, their influences on the meso-scale (>10km) dynamics are poorly understood. More specifically, his work investigates on modeling turbulence induced drag on turbines/buildings/vehicles.

Ref. A multiscale eddy simulation methodology for the atmospheric Ekman boundary layer by J Alam and M R Islam, Geophysical and Astrophysical Fluid Dynamics, 109(issue 1), pp 1-20, 2015.

Personal Website
Link to Projects


Alex Bihlo

Dr. Bihlo received his PhD (sub auspiciis praesidentis) in meteorology at the University of Vienna in 2011. After completing postdoctoral stays at the Centre de recherches mathématiques, McGill University, Memorial University and the University of British Columbia, he joined Memorial University as a Canada Research Chair in November 2015. Dr. Bihlo's research has been funded by the Austrian Academy of Sciences, the Austrian Science Fund (FWF), NSERC, PIMS, RDC and CRC.

Dr. Bihlo's areas of expertise include geometric numerical integration, group analysis of differential and difference equations, geophysical fluid dynamics and domain decomposition. In these fields he has co-authored more than 25 research papers.

Personal Website
Link to Projects


Ronald Haynes

Dr. Haynes received a B.Sc. (Hons) in Applied Mathematics from Memorial University in 1996. He then continued his studies at Simon Fraser University completing a MSc in 1998 and PhD in 2003. After completing an NSERC postdoc at the University of Waterloo, jointly in the School of Computer Science and Department of Applied Mathematics, he began his first academic position at Acadia University as an assistant professor. He held this position for five years before coming home to Memorial as an associate professor in the fall of 2009. He was promoted to full professor as of September 2015. His research has been funded by NSERC, CFI, RDC, AARMS, and AIF.

Dr. Haynes' research involves various aspects of numerical analysis and scientific computing, he has (co)-authored approximately 35 publications as of the fall of 2015. His interests include numerical methods for partial differential equations (moving mesh methods, domain decomposition, and parallel methods in time), numerical linear algebra and large scale optimization.

Personal Website
Link to Projects


Scott MacLachlan

Dr. MacLachlan received a B.Sc. (Hon.) in Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of British Columbia in 2000. He received his Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 2004. After postdoctoral periods at the University of Colorado, the University of Minnesota, and the Delft University of Technology, he joined the faculty of Tufts University in January 2008, and was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor of Mathematics at Tufts in September 2012. He joined Memorial University as an Associate Professor in July 2014. His research has been funded by the European Community, the National Science Foundation, NSERC, RDC, and AARMS.

Dr. MacLachlan's research interests lie in computational applied mathematics and scientific computation. In particular, his work centers on the development and analysis of finite-element and multigrid methods, typically for PDE-based models of fluid and solid mechanics. His work involves aspects of functional and numerical analysis, numerical linear algebra, and physical modelling. He currently serves as an associate editor of the SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing and on the editorial boards of Numerical Linear Algebra with Applications and the Journal of Computational Science. He is on the program committee of the biennial Copper Mountain Conference on Multigrid Methods and the annual International Workshop on Multiscale Modelling and Simulation.

Personal Website
Link to projects


Dr. Tarun Sheel

Dr. Sheel received a BSc (Hons) & MSc degree (in Applied Mathematics) from the University of Dhaka of Bangladesh; he completed a PhD degree (in Computational Fluid Dynamics) from Keio University, Japan. He has had postdoctoral research experience in Scientific Computing from the University Catholique de Louvain, Belgium and University of Rostock, Germany. He moved to the University of Windsor, Ontario, Canada as a Research Associate and Sessional Instructor in Mathematics and Applied Sciences in 2012. Before moving to MUN he also worked as an Assistant Professor in Mathematics at Trent University, Canada. In the past, Dr. Sheel also served as a full time Professor in Shah Jalal University of Science and Technology, Bangladesh.
Dr. Sheel’s areas of research include Scientific Computing, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Particle Methods (e.g. Vortex Method), Grid Methods (e.g. FEM), Parallel Mesh Generation and Adaptation, Local Scour Reduction (e.g. scour at the bed of the bridge pier), Heat Transfer (e.g. Geothermal Energy), and Numerical Modeling on Sub-marine Landslides.

 Personal Website


Serpil Kocabiyik



Colin Farquharson




Hormoz Jahandari (S. MacLachlan, R. Haynes and A. Bihlo)
Siva Prasad (Igor Zakharov C-core)
Fabrizio Donzelli (A. Bihlo)
Yunhui He (R. Haynes) 
Hisham bin Zubair (Completed September 2017, S. MacLachlan)
Alex Bihlo (Completed November 2015, C. Farquharson and R. Haynes)
Grazieli Carosio (Completed August 2015, C. Farquharson and R. Haynes)
Thomas Humphries (Completed August 2013, R. Haynes)




Abdalaziz Hamdan (S. MacLachlan)
Rüdiger Brecht (A. Bihlo and S. MacLachlan)
Nathan King (Visiting PhD Student from SFU, S. Ruuth and R. Haynes. Now with Rutter Technologies)
Khaled Mohammad (R. Haynes)
Abu Sarker (R. Haynes)
Mohammad Kowsari (R. Haynes and L. James)
Yunhui He (S. MacLachlan)
Xiang Wang (Visiting PhD student China, R. Haynes)
Yunhui He (Completed in 2018, R. Haynes)
Razan Abu-Labdeh (R. Haynes)
Tareq Uz Zaman (R. Haynes)



Razan Abu Labdeh (Completed in 2018, S. MacLachlan)
Evan Kielley (A. Bihlo, S. MacLachlan, and J. Munroe)
Dawei Wang (R. Haynes and S. MacLachlan)
Benjamin Kary (Colin Farquharson and R. Haynes)
Efran Mohagheghian (L. James and R. Haynes)
Oleksandr Abramov (A. Bihlo and R. Haynes)
Bilal Uddin (R. Haynes)
Ian May ( R. Haynes and S. Ruuth)
Lukas Spies (Completed September 2016, S. MacLachlan)
Abu Naser Sarker (Completed September 2015, R. Haynes)
Faysol Ahmed (Completed September 2015, R. Haynes)
Patrick Belliveau (Completed August 2014, C. Farquharson and R. Haynes)
Siva Prasad (Completed December 2013, R. Haynes)
Alexander Howse (Completed August 2013, R. Haynes)
Khaled Mohammad (Completed August 2010, R. Haynes)



Niall Madden (NUI-Galway), February - June 2018
Dr. Patrick Farrell (Oxford) June 2016 and July 2017
Alexander Howse (Waterloo) May 2016
Emily Walsh (UWE Bristol) March 2016
Partick Farrell, August 2019
Michael Overton, September 2018
Martin Gander, March 2018
Federico Danieli (Oxford) Jan-Sept 2019