Office of the Registrar
Faculty of Science (2012/2013)
7.9 Ocean Sciences

The Department of Ocean Sciences is a newly formed Department within the Faculty of Science. The faculty within this Department are the former faculty of the Ocean Sciences Centre, a research unit and facility that was first opened in 1967.

The Department’s mandate as an interdisciplinary unit is to focus on increasing our understanding of biological and chemical processes within the oceans, and with those associated with aquaculture.

The Department aims to offer both undergraduate and graduate programs in Ocean Sciences. Immediate plans are underway to offer two undergraduate Minors in Oceans and in Aquaculture. It is expected that the first course offerings will be available in 2013-2014.