W.J. Blundon Contest

Supported by:



  1. General Information

  2. Registration

  3. Past Winners

  4. Past Contests

General Information

Professor W.J. Blundon was the first head of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at MUN, and an avid problem solver.

(For a short biography of Professor Blundon and information on Experiences in Problem Solving, a compilation of his published solutions to a wide variety of mathematical problems, click here.)

The Blundon Contest is written each year on the same date as the CEMC Pascal, Cayley, and Fermat contests.We encourage those who was placed on the provincial honour roll in Fermat Contest last year, as well as the mathematically capable Level II students, to write the Blundon contest. This is our most important provincial senior high contest, and we would like more students to write it.

Students who recieve top scores at the Bluncdon Contest are invited to attend the Annual Blundon Seminar Camp at Memorial held in May. For more information regarding this event please click here.

2017 Contest Information
Date: February 28, 2017
Time: 9:00am - 12:00pm
Note: Calculators, tables, etc. are not permitted.


The deadline for applying to write the Blundon Contest is January 31, 2017. The registration form is now available and the event will take place on February 28, 2017.

The first place winner is presented with the Blundon Shield at our annual Seminar held in May each year. The shield is kept by the school for one year. This shield has been donated by the Mathematics Council of the Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' Association in recognition of the outstanding contribution to mathematics education made by the late Professor W.J. Blundon, and in appreciation of the work done by the MUN Competitions Committee in holding the annual seminar.

Two Blundon shields have been presented to the winners of the Blundon Contest:

Past Winners

 2016  Andrew Dawson, Gonzaga High School
 2015  Jared Loder, Ascension Collegiate
 2014   Mason Nolan, Gander Collegiate
 2013   Jordan Naterer, Holy Heart of Mary
 2012   Alexander Mackay, Holy Heart of Mary
 2011   Nathan WIlson, Holy Heart of Mary
 2010   Brian Peach, O'Donel High School
 2009   Adam Gardner, Gonzaga High
 2008   Louis Kim, O'Donel High School
 2007   Mark Yang, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 2006  Roger He, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 Ian Payne, Pasadena Academy
 2005   Shuang Han, Holy Heart of Mary
 2004   Andrew Critch, Clarenville High 
 2003   Andrew Critch, Clarenville High
 2002   Nithum Thain, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 2001   Michael Watson, Bishops College
 2000   Joshua Hollett, Musgravetown High
 1999   Leslie Rose, St. Francis High
 1998   Dale Whitmore, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 1997   Dale Whitmore, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 1996   Ed Kent, Gonzaga High
 1995   Ian Barrett, Ascension Collegiate
 1994   Robert Bridson, Bishops College
 Reza Shahidi, Bishops College
 1993   Robert Bridson, Bishops College
 1992   Hao Ming Wu, Booth Memorial
 1991   Hari Mallidi, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 1990   Keir Colbo, Bishops College
 1989   Jamie Stuckless, Botwood Collegiate
 1988   Brett Oakley, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 1987   Allen Chen, Prince of Wales Collegiate
 1986   Jeff Pelley, Gander Collegiate
 1985   Neil Power, St. Stephens High
 1984  Timothy Churchill, Eugene Vaters Collegiate
 Samuel Sharpe, Queen Elizabeth High


Past Contests

The following are the Blundon Contest and solutions for the past several years:

 2016 Contest  2016 Solutions 
 2015 Contest  2015 Solutions 
 2012 Contest  2012 Solutions
 2011 Contest  2011 Solutions
 2010 Contest  2010 Solutions 
 2009 Contest  2009 Solutions
 2008 Contest  2008 Solutions
 2007 Contest  2007 Solutions
 2006 Contest  2006 Solutions
 2005 Contest  2005 Solutions
 2004 Contest  2004 Solutions
 2003 Contest  2003 Solutions
 2002 Contest  2002 Solutions
 2001 Contest  2001 Solutions
 2000 Contest  2000 Solutions
 1999 Contest  1999 Solutions
 1998 Contest  1998 Solutions