Academic Advice

Students with general questions about possible degree programs, degree requirements and academic advice in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences should contact:

Denise Hooper
Senior Academic Advisor for Humanities and Social Sciences.
9 am – 5 pm Monday to Friday
9 am – 4:30 pm during the summer (June, July, August)
A-2070 (Arts and Administration)
864-8363
deniseh@mun.ca

Undergraduate students with questions about an interdisciplinary program of study, diploma programs and certificate programs in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences should contact:

Renée Shute
Manager of Academic Programs, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
8:30 am – 4:30 pm Monday to Friday
8:30 am – 4:00 pm during the summer (June, July, August)
AA-4077 (Arts and Administration)
864-7454
rshute@mun.ca

First year students are encouraged to contact the Academic Advising Centre with questions.

Students looking for advice in declaring a particular major within the Faculty of Arts or students looking for advice on course selection for their declared majors should contact the Undergraduate Liaison in the department of their major for assistance.

Undergraduate Liaisons 2016-2017

DepartmentNameE-Mail AddressPhoneRoom
Anthropology Dr. Lincoln Addison laddison@mun.ca 864-7818 QC4014
Archaeology Dr. Oscar Moro omoro@mun.ca 864-3439 QC4019
Classics Dr. Luke Roman romanl@mun.ca 864-8910 A2063
Communication Studies (English) Dr. Jamie Skidmore skidmore@mun.ca 864-8404 A3027B
Economics

Professor Scott Lynch (Fall)
Dr. Nikita Lyssenko (Winter)

lynch@mun.ca
nlysenko@mun.ca
864-8294
864-2149
A3084
A3096
English Ms. Nava Bobby nbobby@mun.ca 864-8061 A3022
Folklore

Dr. Jillian Gould (Fall)
Dr. Mariya Lesiv (Winter)

jgould@mun.ca
mlesiv@mun.ca
864-3244
864-4417
ED4044
A4049
French Dr. Magessa O'Reilly moreilly@mun.ca 864-8580 SN4029
Gender Studies Dr. Carol Lynne D’Arcangelis carollynneda@mun.ca 864-2007 SN4077
Geography Dr. Norm Catto ncatto@mun.ca 864-7417 SN2012A
German Dr. John Buffinga johnb@mun.ca 864-8826 SN3057
History Dr. Marica Cassis mcassis@mun.ca 864-7650 A4008
Law & Society (Political Science) Dr. Christina Doonan cdoonan@mun.ca 864-7413 SN2043
Linguistics Dr. Philip Branigan branigan@mun.ca 864-3017 SN3050C
Medieval Studies (Philosophy) Dr. Sean McGrath smcgrath@mun.ca 864-2668 A3070
Philosophy Dr. Joel Madore joel.madore@mun.ca 864-8340 A3098
Police Studies (Sociology) Dr. Alan Hall alanh@mun.ca 864-4592 A4064
Political Science Dr. Kelly Blidook kblidook@mun.ca 864-8184 SN2042
Religious Studies Dr. Barry Stephenson bstephenson@mun.ca 864-8113 A5026
Russian Dr. Stuart Durrant jsdurrant@mun.ca 864-8641  SN3059
Sociology Dr. Sean Waite swaite@mun.ca 864-4598 A4082
Spanish Dr. Myriam Osorio mosorio@mun.ca 864-4502 SN4045