Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of Archaeology at Memorial University. 

Click on the faculty name to find out more about their research, current projects, student supervision and publications.


Dr. Mario Blaser

Associate Professor
Tier II Canada Research Chair in Aboriginal Studies
Office: IIC 2003 (INCO building)
Telephone: (709) 864-6116
Email: mblaser@mun.ca

Research Interests: Indigenous politics, ontology, the study of science and technology.


Dr. Meghan Burchell

Assistant Professor
Office: QC 2007
Telephone: (709) 864-8865
Email: mburchell@mun.ca

Research Interests: coastal landscapes, isotope analysis, sclerochronology, geochemical applications in archaeology, climate proxies, hunter-gatherers, mortuary archaeology, gender and archaeology.

Dr. Michael Deal

Office: QC 2010
Telephone: (709) 864-8864
Email: mdeal@mun.ca

Research Interests: ethnoarchaeology, paleoethnobotany, industrial and aviation archaeology, ceramics, Eastern Canada, Mesoamerica.


Dr. Véronique Forbes

Assistant Professor
Office: QC 1014B
Telephone: (709) 864-8869
Email: vforbes@mun.ca

Research Interests: human-environment interactions in the circumpolar north, biogeography, conflict, environmental archaeology and palaeoecology, Quaternary entomology, Newfoundland, Alaska, Iceland.  


Dr. Barry Gaulton

Associate Professor
Head of Department
Office: QC 2002/2009
Telephone: (709) 864-8192
Email: bgaulton@mun.ca

Research Interests: historical archaeology, vernacular architecture, material culture, military archaeology, maritime archaeology, transhumance, Eastern North America and Newfoundland.


Dr. Vaughan Grimes

Associate Professor
Office: QC 2008
Telephone: (709) 864-8861
Email: vgrimes@mun.ca

Research Interests: archaeological science, biomolecular archaeology, human skeletal biology, isotope-based analytical methodologies (carbon, nitrogen, oxygen and strontium); influence of culture, biological adaptations and climate change on subsistence, settlement, migration and mobility patterns in the past.

Dr. Catherine Losier

Assistant Professor
Office: QC 1008
Telephone: (709) 864-8806
Email: closier@mun.ca

Research Interests: historical archaeology, French colonies, Atlantic colonial world, material culture studies, cultural interaction, colonial economies.


Dr. Oscar Moro Abadía

Associate Professor
Office: QC 4019
Telephone: (709) 864-3439
Email: omoro@mun.ca

Research Interests: history of science, history of archaeology, the history and epistemology of Paleolithic art research.

Dr. Scott Neilsen

Assistant Professor
Office: Labrador Institute Research Station
Telephone: (709) 497-3630, x.225
Email: snielsen@mun.ca

Research Interests: Indigenous people of Eastern Quebec and Labrador, the long-term history of small-scale societies around the world and the impact that climate, environment and policy has had on them.

Dr. Lisa Rankin

Memorial University Research Chair, Northern Indigenous Community Archaeology
Office: QC 4009
Telephone: (709) 864-4808
Email: lrankin@mun.ca

Research Interests: post-medieval cultural encounters in the archaeological record between Labrador Inuit and Europeans, and interactions between Northeastern Indigenous populations over the past several Millennia; hunter-gatherers, ethnicity and identity, landscapes, settlement patterns, eastern Sub-Arctic.


Dr. Peter J. Whitridge

Office: QC 4010
Telephone: (709) 864-2394
Email: peter.whitridge@mun.ca

Research Interests: hunter-fisher-gatherer social and economic relations; embodiment, place and landscape; childhood, sport, hybridity, human-animal relations, households, practice and agency, Indigenous ecologies, social history of archaeology, North American Arctic, Subarctic and Northwest Coast. 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Amanda Crompton (Saint Mary's University)
Dr. Donald Holly Jr. (Eastern Illinois University)
Dr. Shannon Lewis-Simpson (Memorial University)

Cross-appointed Faculty

Dr. Trevor Bell (Geography)
Dr. Marica Cassis (History)
Dr. Neil Kennedy (History)

Professor Emeritus

James A. Tuck

Former Faculty

Stuart C. Brown
Sonja Jerkic
Peter E. Pope
Priscilla Renouf




Department of Archaeology

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000