Please Enter a Search Term

Department of Earth Sciences News

Dr. John Hanchar receiving Distinguished Scholar Award

It was standing-room only at the annual Dean’s Awards Ceremony and reception on Tuesday, Sept. 23, as parents, employees and friends joined the Faculty of Science to celebrate student, faculty and staff achievement.

During the event, Dr. Mark Abrahams, dean of Science, named 259 students to the Dean’s List, a group comprised of the top 10 per cent of students in the Faculty of Science.


Earth Sciences All Years Reunion Celebration

The Department of Earth Science is inviting 60 years of graduates back to Memorial as a part of its Reunion celebrations happening during MUNdays 2014. Celebrations will kick off Friday night with a get together on campus in the Alexander Murray Club and Graduate Lounge. It's all about old friends, food, laughter and memories which is sure to make it a rockin' good time - plus we want you to bring along your guitars for a little jam session!

Saturday requires you to dust off those hiking boots and rock hammers! We have a couple of great field trips lined up. You'll have the opportunity to explore ancient Neoproterozoic glacial rocks or Avalonian volcano-plutonic terrane.


In the life of every university there are legends – tales of high adventure and discovery – some passed on from generation to generation, some lost in the passage of time. This summer marked the 50th anniversary of one of those events.

Five Memorial-led research projects recently received a boost from the Research & Development Corporation (RDC). RDC is investing more than $475,000 in five research and development projects related to mineral exploration and development. The projects are aimed at enhancing exploration efforts, improving environmental mitigation strategies and strengthening R&D opportunities through the purchase of specialized equipment.