TAUMUN Executive Board 2016-2017

President: Mohammad Jalal Ahammad

I am PhD student in interdisciplinary department. My expertization is in Computational and experimental fluid dynamics. I finished M.Sc. in Computational Science from MUN in May, 2014. I was also awarded the Fellow of SGS - 2014 at MUN. I enjoy doing research at MUN and I love MUN and Newfoundland. I have long experience in academic and administrative positions in my home country, Bangladesh. I have also completed PSDP at MUN. During my study period at MUN, I was actively involved in volunteering work in different communities like GSU, ISA, MSA, etc. TAUMUN is another window for volunteering opportunity to meet the people and share and exchange the idea with the people. I like travelling, volunteering and believe people are for the people.

Contact: mja731@mun.ca | Phone: (709)330-6336

First Vice-President: Rajit Sudilan Dayarathne

Rajith Sudilan Dayarathne is a Sri Lankan PhD candidate in Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. He started his carrier at MUN as a master student and then converted to PhD with his academic and research excellence shown in first year. He has been elected as 1st Vice President TAUMUN at the AGM held on August 2015.He is also Vice President of Sri Lankan Student Association at MUN. Apart from these, he was able to show his leadership skills by involving with various activities. Rajith also volunteered in several occasions at MUN with academic and social events.

Contact: rsd038@mun.ca

Second Vice-President: Md. Abdus Samad Bhuiyan

Samad Bhuiyan is TAUMUN'S second vice-president and he was elected in this position at the TAUMUN'S annual general meeting in October 2016. He is an active member of both the Directly Chartered Local(DCL), Public Service Alliance of Canada(PSAC) and the St.john's Young Worker Committee(SJYWC), PSAC, Atlantic.

His first involvement with this union was during the 2013, teaching assistance working position at the department of mathematics, MUN. Besides TAUMUN, he also engaged in the different societies: Math & Stat Society, Bangladesh Student Association(BSA) at Memorial University. In addition, he was a bargaining committee member of the house rent increasing committee, Baltimore court, MUN in 2016.

Previously, he was an active member of the representing academic worker at Brock University, CUPE 4207, ON, Canada from 2010 to 2012. He also was a member of the executive body of the graduate student union, Brock University, Canada and president of the Noakhali Student Association(NSA), University of Chittagong, Bangladesh. Regarding academic success, he was awarded as a Canadian young researcher, student in 2011 by Mprime at the AMMCS conference. Moreover, He got president awards of Memorial University in 2013 and research excellence awards in both the 2014 and 2015 year.
At present, in his role as a vice-president, Mr.Bhuiyan is responsible for the variety of tasks including organizing academic and socio-economic learning sessions for the members. He has always been and continues to be a mouthpiece for all members of the TAUMUN and committed to standing side by side with the members of this union.

Contact: masb80@mun.ca

Secretary-Treasurer: Md. Aminul Islam Khan

Contact: maik66@mun.ca

Member-at-Large: Shubhagata Roy

Contact: sr7215@mun.ca