Galbraith Lecture: Nomination for Selection Committee, 2013-15

Nominations are invited from faculty and staff of Memorial University for participation on the Galbraith Lecture Selection Committee. Nominees should be interested in public policy issues of interest to Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Galbraith Lecture is an annual event co-sponsored by the Office of the President, the Office of the Dean of Arts and the Leslie Harris Centre of Regional Policy and Development. It aims to bring to Memorial University outstanding figures whose work reflects their commitment to excellence in scholarship and public affairs. The Lectureship is named after John Kenneth Galbraith, the internationally-renowned economist who was awarded an honourary doctorate of letters at Memorial’s 1999 fall convocation and who subsequently endowed the lecture series.

The lecture is held on the St. John's campus of Memorial, is open to the public and is webcast live. Videos of past lectures are available here.

The Selection Committee is chaired by the President and includes the Dean of Arts and the Director of the Harris Centre. Nominations are invited to fill six vacancies on the committee. Nominees may be from any campus, faculty, department or centre of the University.

Committee members are appointed for two lecture cycles (normally two years). Responsibilities primarily involve compiling a short list of candidates from nominations submitted by faculty, staff and students of Memorial, as well as by the community. The Harris Centre serves as the secretariat for the committee, which greatly reduces the committee members’ workload.

Persons interested in serving on the Selection Committee should fill in the short form below.


The Harris Centre

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000