The Margaret Waterman Kelly Teaching Prize

The Margaret Waterman Kelly Teaching Prize is named in memory of Margaret Waterman Kelly, a student of Memorial University College and a teacher in pre-Confederation Newfoundland whose life exemplified the highest ideals of education and volunteerism. This prize was established by her daughter, Dr. Ursula Kelly, to commemorate this lifework. Valued at a portion of the income on the endowment, the prize is awarded annually to a female student from Newfoundland and Labrador, enrolled in the Faculty of Education at Memorial University of Newfoundland who, upon graduation with a Bachelor’s degree in Education (Primary/Elementary or Intermediate/Secondary), has demonstrated excellence in teaching combined with commitment to community service. The prize is awarded by the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards on the recommendation of the Dean, Faculty of Education. For further information, consult the Convocation Awards section of the University Calendar.



2018 - Emily Crummey

2017 - Megan Cluett

2016 - Colette Vatcher

2015 - Heather Carroll

2014 - Erica Noonan

2013 - Brittany Long

2012 - Amanda Earle

2011 - Chantal Nash

2010 - No Recipient

2009 - Susan Gale

2008 - Ashley Kinsella


Faculty of Education

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000