Memorial grads, faculty recognized at Mineral Industry Awards

Nov 23rd, 2013

Kelly Foss

Memorial grads, faculty recognized at Mineral Industry Awards

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) Newfoundland Branch recognized a number of individuals with ties to Memorial University at their recent 2013 Mineral Industry Awards. The announcements were made during the organization’s annual Mineral Resources Review Conference and Trade Show – eastern Canada’s largest mineral industry event.

Dr. Derek Wilton, a professor in the Department of Earth Sciences was named Geoscientist of the Year, a new award handed out this year to recognize significant contributions to the resource industry.

“A recognized expert on mineral deposits and their environments in Newfoundland and Labrador, (Dr. Wilton’s) research into exploration applications for innovative surficial media and biogeochemical techniques has global implications and is now being used in other parts of Canada and throughout the world,” read the CIM news release.

“This methodology has the potential to become standard in the explorers toolbox and may lead to the next generation of mineral discoveries.”

In addition, Memorial alumni (William) Lawson Dickson, was awarded honorary membership in the Newfoundland Branch, their highest award. It is given to those “who have made a significant contribution to the CIM Newfoundland Branch and/or to the mining, exploration, and petroleum industries in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Dr. Dickson recently retired as director of the Geological Survey of Newfoundland and Labrador after nearly 34 years of service, many of those also spent volunteering with the CIM Newfoundland Branch and with Scouts Canada. He holds a masters degree from the Department of Earth Sciences.

Also among the awards presented was the CIM Newfoundland Branch Golden Jubilee Scholarship, based on academic standing and awarded to a student majoring in studies related to the fields of interest of CIM. It was presented to Tyler LeDrew, an electrical engineering student in his final year of a Bachelor of Engineering degree.

The CIM Newfoundland Branch Silver Jubilee Scholarship, awarded to students in their final or penultimate year in Earth Sciences at Memorial, was presented to Sean F. O’Brien.

Gwen (Wendy) Martin, a former student of Earth Sciences at Memorial, also received the CIM Certificate of Appreciation for writing a history of mining in Newfoundland, Once Upon a Mine, a “significant contribution towards preserving the history on pre-confederation mining in Newfoundland.

The 2013 CIM Newfoundland Branch Explorer of the Year award was presented to Marathon Gold, a gold resource development company known for its exploration at Valentine Lake near Buchans. Several Memorial graduates were a part of the team that accepted the award at the ceremony.

Other awards presented that evening were Developer of the Year, Vale; and Service Provider of the Year, Jerry Jones, owner of Duralite Diamond Drills.