The London International Youth Science Forum Award

2019 London International Youth Science Forum Award for Excellence in Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Christopher Flinn, Coordinator London International Youth Science Forum (LIYSF) Award.

The 2019 London International Youth Science Forum takes place this upcoming summer from July 24 to August 7, 2019 in London England.

 About 300 top young science students from 50 or more countries around the world attend the Forum which consists of some very special lectures from eminent scientists, visits to famous places like Oxford and Cambridge, visits to museums, research and industrial laboratories, group discussions, and a full social schedule. No time to be bored!

 Students must be Bona Fide first year MUN science students from the St. John's campus. They may be taking some second year courses having received AP or IB credits. Applicants must have taken no less than 5 courses in each of the Fall 2018 and Winter 2019 semesters to be considered for the award.

A shortlist of up to a dozen students will be given a brief informal interview by the LIYSF Committee consisting of 3 or 4 MUN Professors from which one student will be chosen for the award. The main criteria for the award is overall academic performance, especially in science and math courses taken in the Fall 2018 and Winter 2019 semesters. Generally  the winner has a cumulative average in the range of 85 to 90%.

 The Winner is asked to submit a one to two page report shortly after their return on their impressions about the Forum and how they feel they benefited from attending it. They are expected to return their tickets stubs to the Chemistry Department for bookkeeping purposes. The winner may also be asked to help with Orientation in Fall 2019 and with other related events.

Application forms are available in the Chemistry Department General Office C4000 and on the web. Return completed forms to Mary Flinn in C4000.

 Tentative Schedule of Events

 Application forms are due Friday, April 5, 2019 in the Chemistry General Office C4000.

 LIYF web page (London):

 List of Award Winners

 Sponsors: The award winner is asked to apply to the Student Innovation fund/Office of the Vice-President (Academic) Undergraduate Studies to help offset the cost to the Dr. Hugh J. Anderson Fund.  The award covers the airfare and all Forum fees such as room and board in the residence of the University College of London.


Past Benefactors of the LIYSF:

Office of the Dean of Science
Faculty of Science
Fortis Inc.
Student Affairs and Services
Alumni Affairs and Development
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
The Council of the Student's Union
Division of General Studies
Beothuk Data Systems


Special Acknowledgement:

We are indebted to to Dr. Peter Fisher, Dr. Charles Loader and to the late Dr. June Winter for their outstanding efforts on behalf of the LIYSF awards and to Dr. Wayne Ludlow and Dr. Michael Collins for their long time moral and financial support.


Department of Chemistry

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000