London Forum Award

2017 London International Youth Science Forum Awards for Excellence in Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Christopher Flinn, Coordinator London International Youth Science Forum (LIYSF) Awards.

The 2017 London International Youth Science Forum takes place this upcoming summer from July 26 to August 9, 2017 in London England.


About 300 top young science students from 50 or more countries around the world attend the Forum which consists of some very special lectures from eminent scientists, visits to famous places like Oxford and Cambridge, visits to museums, research and industrial laboratories, group discussions, and a full social schedule. No time to be bored!


Memorial University annually presents one or two awards consisting of conference fees, room and board, airfares, etc. Students need only spending money.


Students must be Bona Fide first year MUN science students from the St. John's campus. They may be taking some second year courses having received AP or IB credits. Applicants must have taken no less than 5 courses in each of the Fall 2016 and Winter 2017 semesters to be considered for the award.


A shortlist of up to a dozen students will be given a brief informal interview by the LIYSF Committee consisting of 3 or 4 MUN Professors. The main criteria for the award is overall academic performance, especially in science and math courses taken in the Fall 2016 and Winter 2017 semesters. Generally winners have a cumulative average in the range of 85 to 90%.


Winners are expected to submit a one to two page report shortly after their return on their impressions about the Forum and how they feel they benefited from attending it and to return their tickets stubs to the Chemistry Department for bookkeeping purposes. Winners may also be asked to help with Orientation in Fall 2017 and with other related events.


Application forms are available in the Chemistry Department General Office C4000 and on the web. Return completed forms to Mary Flinn in C4000.


Tentative Schedule of Events


Application forms are due Wednesday, April 5, 2017 in the Chemistry General Office C4000.


LIYSF web page (London):


List of Winners


2016 Sponsors


Office of the Dean of Science: $4000 to send one student
Present Dean: Dr. Mark Abrahams


Office of the Vice-President (Academic) Undergraduate Studies: (Student Innovation Fund)


Department of Chemistry


Past Benefactors of the LIYSF:


Faculty of Science
Fortis Inc.
Student Affairs and Services
Alumni Affairs and Development
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
The Council of the Student's Union
Division of General Studies
Beothuk Data Systems


Special Thanks


to Dr. Peter Fisher, Dr. Charles Loader and to the late Dr. June Winter for their outstanding efforts on behalf of the LIYSF awards and to Dr. Wayne Ludlow and Dr. Michael Collins for their long time moral and financial support.


Department of Chemistry

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000