{President's Report 2003}
* Year-in-Review
September 2002
October 2002
November 2002
December 2002
January 2003
February 2003
March 2003
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
Vital Signs
Campus Life
Honour Roll

About This Report
Contact Us

Year in Review | November

Musicians and academics alike flocked to Memorial's School of Music for the annual conference of the Canadian Society for Traditional Music (CSTM). The conference, held Nov. 2-3, brought interested parties together to discuss and perform traditional music in all its forms. CSTM is a unique society because its members are often both academics and performers.

Canadian Business released its 11th annual look at the country's MBA programs and Memorial fared quite well. In the survey, the Strategic Counsel, a national market research firm, polled 400 business executives across Canada at the vice-president level or above and 100 human resource executives on a number of MBA-related questions, including what they thought the best business school in Canada was. Memorial University ranked third in the Atlantic Canada region.

Having celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2001, the Newfoundland Quarterly was given a new managing editor with a new mandate and continued support from Memorial University to see the historic journal into its second century of publication. The publication, housed in the Genesis Centre, is now developed with reference to a long-term plan that places a new emphasis on marketing and promotion. The new editor, Linda Whalen, replaces Dr. Harry Cuff who retired in 2001 after 35 years as the Quarterly's editor and publisher. During Dr. Cuff's tenure, the Quarterly published contemporary fiction, poetry, visual arts, essays and book reviews. In addition, it incorporated Aspects, the official publication of the Newfoundland History Society, edited by Dr. Leslie Harris. These elements will remain a vital part of the new Quarterly, which will operate under a broadened mandate to present and exemplify an innovative approach to both content and production.

The federal government announced an investment of $130.1 million to support the creation of 123 new Canada Research Chairs during a press conference at Memorial University on Nov. 12. The announcement was made by Gerry Byrne, minister of State (Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency), who pointed out that 43 of these new chairs are external recruits of outstanding calibre. Memorial University will be home to four of these new CRC chairs, including Dr. Thormod Johansen, who is coming to Canada from Norway where he worked as an advisor and senior engineer for a number of petroleum companies, and specialized in developing simulation software. Memorial's other new Canada Research Chairs announced Nov. 12 were Robert F. P. Bertolo, Canada Research Chair in Human Nutrition; William R. Driedzic, Canada Research Chair in Marine Bioscience; and Paul V. R. Snelgrove, Canada Research Chair in Boreal and Cold Ocean Systems.

Chris Decker is the new chair of Memorial's Board of Regents. The appointment was announced by Sandra Kelly, minister of Youth Services and Post-Secondary Education, and was effective Nov. 1. Mr. Decker has been a member of the Board of Regents since 1999 and is a resident of Roddickton. He was elected to the House of Assembly in 1985 and during his career has served as minister of health, minister of education and training, and minister of justice. Prior to provincial politics, he was mayor of the Town of Roddickton, and owner/operator of several businesses. He has also served on school-related boards and councils throughout the province. He has a bachelor of arts (English) from Memorial University and a master of divinity from Pine Hill Divinity Hall.

For the first time, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra selected a Memorial music student for its annual national competition. Third-year percussion student Andrew Dunsmore traveled to Montreal for the semi-finals Nov. 13.

Over 210 friends and supporters of Memorial University were on hand Thursday evening, Nov. 14, at the Marine Institute to celebrate the accomplishments of five outstanding graduates. These included Eric Jerrett for lifetime achievement; Heather Billou for achievement under age 35; Dr. Wayne Ludlow for volunteer service to Memorial; Sara Sexton for volunteer service to the community; and Dr. Bruce Aylward for professional achievement. All of the recipients were able to attend except Dr. Aylward, whose parents accepted the award on his behalf. The awards plaques, designed specifically for the event, were presented by Dr. J. D. Eaton and former alumni of the year Noel Veitch, Douglas Moores, Clyde Wells and, standing in for Senator William Rompkey, Dr. Linda Inkpen, chair of the awards committee, who also presented lifetime achievement award recipient Mr. Jerrett with an original piece of pottery created by Darryl Pike, a faculty of engineering graduate.

Dr. Ivan Emke is one of 15 university researchers who are joining with rural people and policy makers to build capacity in rural Canada. The social/cultural studies professor at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College has been involved in an interdisciplinary research team focusing on changes in the new rural economy for the last five years. Now, with another $3-million infusion from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the project will enter into its second phase - another three-and-a-half years of research on rural Canada, titled Building Rural Capacity in the New Economy.