{President's Report 2003}
* Year-in-Review
September 2002
October 2002
November 2002
December 2002
January 2003
February 2003
March 2003
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
Vital Signs
Campus Life
Honour Roll

About This Report
Contact Us

Year in Review | March

A sold-out crowd of over 2,000 packed the Field House on Sunday to see the Sea-Hawks go for their second consecutive Atlantic University Sport basketball championship. After knocking off Dalhousie in Saturday's semi-final, the Sea-Hawks did not disappoint the faithful, with an exciting 80-77 victory over the University College of Cape Breton. All five MUN starters scored in double figures with Jenine Browne and Amy Dalton leading the way with 18 points each while Kate Flynn added 15. Dalton was named player of the game, while Browne and Erika Stokes were voted tournament all-stars. Browne was also named tournament most valuable player, capping a remarkable season in which she led the country in scoring, was named AUS most valuable player, defensive player of the year, and an AUS first-team all-star. Also recognized by the AUS were Memorial coach Doug Partridge, named coach of the year; Erika Stokes, named TSN Award winner; Kate Flynn, first team all-star; and Amy Dalton, second team all-star.

Dr. Christopher Loomis, vice-president (research and international relations) of Memorial University of Newfoundland, welcomed an investment of over $600,000 in funding from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) for two new faculty members. Memorial received $109,000 for an analytical X-ray facility for a materials science and engineering research project being led by Dr. John Shirokoff (Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science), and $499,999 for equipment in support of research on cellular signalling mechanisms in growth, development and disease, co-investigators Drs. Robert Gendron, Hélène Paradis, Jules Doré and Daniel MacPhee (Faculty of Medicine).

Frank Durnford of Creston South, attending Memorial University of Newfoundland, was selected as one of the first four interns to receive the CBC Radio Peter Gzowski Internships. Mr. Durnford has an extensive background in English studies and performance, and has a BA, joint honours, in English and French. In 2002, he received the David Kirkland Student Leadership award from Memorial University, and was an inductee in the Paton College Honours Society for Academic and Leadership Achievements. CBC Radio established the CBC Radio Peter Gzowski Internships in honour of the late Peter Gzowski, to offer training and broadcast opportunities to eligible final-year students in four participating universities across the country.

Newfoundland Premier Roger Grimes and Memorial President Dr. Axel Meisen attended the Health Research Showcase in Toronto. The showcase was aimed at attracting increased health related research funding to the province. The province's expertise in health research was presented to invited members of the pharmaceutical industry in an evening program March 4 at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto. Hosted by the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador and Memorial University, Premier Roger Grimes and university President Axel Meisen gave an overview of Newfoundland and Labrador's range of expertise in health research, providing an opportunity to discuss potential research partnership opportunities with industry.

A March 17 announcement by federal Industry Minister, Allan Rock, included the approval of three new Tier I Canada Research Chairs positions for Memorial University. A research chair is faculty position created to focus on research in a particular academic area. The chairs include $200,000 per annum for salary and research support. The chairs were awarded to Dr. Neil Bose, Faculty Engineering and Applied Science, for Offshore and Underwater Vehicles Design; Dr. Dale Corbett, Faculty of Medicine, for Stroke and Neuroplasticity; and Dr. Rangaswamy (Sesh) Seshadri, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, for Asset Integrity Management.

David Porter and Leslie E. Galway are appointed members of Memorial's Board of Regents. Mr. Porter was appointed for a six-month period, while Ms. Galway has been appointed for a three-year period. The announcement was made by Youth Services and Post-Secondary Education Minister Anna Thistle. Mr. Porter, a resident of Labrador City, is vice-president of Human Resources with the Iron Ore Company of Canada. He has worked in the mining and steel industries for a number of years, for such companies as Inco, Rio Algoma Limited, Lornex Mining Corporation and Atlas Steels. Ms. Galway is the president and CEO of Newfoundland Ocean Industries Association (NOIA), with responsibility for managing the growing business of NOIA and providing a continuity of leadership and representation for membership. The Board of Regents is responsible for the management, administration and the affairs of the university.