{President's Report 2003}
* Year-in-Review
September 2002
October 2002
November 2002
December 2002
January 2003
February 2003
March 2003
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
Vital Signs
Campus Life
Honour Roll

About This Report
Contact Us

Year in Review | January

Dr. Willeen Keough, a graduate of the doctoral program in the Department of History and currently a postdoctoral fellow with the Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER), was awarded the prestigious Gutenberg-e Prize of the American Historical Association for 2002. The announcement was made on Jan. 3, 2003, during the AHA's annual meeting in Chicago. The Gutenberg-e program was launched by the AHA in 1999 to deliver high-quality, innovative scholarship on the Internet through the creative and thoughtful use of digital technology. Dr. Keough's award carries not only recognition and prestige but also funding in the amount of $20,000 US to develop her thesis into an e-book. Working with the electronic publishing staff at Columbia University Press, she will convert the dissertation into a digitized multi-media monograph, including features such as hypertextual documentation, active cross-references, and links to audio and visual clips. The title of Dr. Keough's dissertation is The Slender Thread: Irish Women on the Southern Avalon, 1750-1860.

Former Memorial University president Dr. Arthur May was named president emeritus by the university's Senate. Dr. May, Memorial's alumnus of the year for 1983, served as president from 1990 to 1999. The title of president emeritus is granted for outstanding service and achievement to the university in that leadership capacity.

The university and government agreed to transfer the Art Gallery of Newfoundland and Labrador (AGNL) as part of the development of The Rooms complex, a large museum and archives in downtown St. John's. The transfer was effective Jan. 15, 2003. The university retains ownership of the art collection and has entered into a custodial arrangement to loan it to The Rooms Corporation.

St. John's and its twinned city of Waterford, Ireland, forged new cultural connections, thanks to a festival of contemporary music in Waterford held from Jan. 24-31. The New Music Festival was organized by the Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) and the Garter Lane Arts Centre. Dr. Clark Ross, a faculty member in Memorial University's School of Music, was chosen to be composer-in-residence at the prestigious week long event.

In early January, five teams of undergraduate students from the Faculty of Business Administration competed against the country's brightest young business students at the 25th annual Intercollegiate Business Competition (ICBC). Memorial's team took home a first-place finish in debating (Tom Dunne and John Whelan), two second-place finishes in accounting (Krista Andrews and Susan Kelly) and marketing (Krista Peddle and Laura Wellon), and a third-place finish in ethics (Chad Blundon and Jeffrey Young). The finance team (Brent Vallis and Robert Woolfrey) also participated in the final round.

A team of graduate students from Memorial University's Faculty of Business Administration took on the world and took home a fourth place finish at the John Molson MBA International Case Competition held in Montreal. Memorial's team, consisting of Lyne Edington, Gillian Kennedy, Gord Pike, Will Smith, Craig Ennis (alternate) and coaches Peggy Coady and Dr. Alex Faseruk, competed against 29 universities from six countries.

Memorial's Faculty of Medicine received three major Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) awards. Dr. Guang Sun, Genetics, received over $142,000 to do a comparative expression study on the alteration of global mRNA profiles of human adipose tissue in response to overfeeding in obese and non-obese subjects. Five-year grant renewals were awarded to Dr. George Carayanniotis and Dr. Kenneth Kao. Dr. Carayanniotis's work - funded to $130,000 - is on immunoregulation of experimental autoimmune thyroiditis. Basic sciences cancer researcher Dr. Kao will receive over $150,000 in the first year of his five-year renewal. His research is on the regulation of embryonic cell differentiation by a cancer causing gene called Rel/NF-kappaB. Dr. Kao has been the recipient of the Faculty of Medicine's Dr. A.R. Cox Award and a Medical Research Foundation Award.

Dr. Peter Narvaez, Folklore, is one of three Memorial Faculty nominated for an East Coast Music Award (ECMA). Nancy Dahn and Timothy Steeves form Duo Concertante, a group which has been nominated in the classical music category.

Author, essayist, and critic Alberto Manguel, known for his books A History of Reading, Into the Looking Glass Wood, The Dictionary of Imaginary Places and a novel, News from a Foreign Country Came, among others, delivered the Pratt lecture. His lecture, titled The Library at Night, explored the vagaries and idiosyncrasies of organizing human knowledge in book form. The lecture was highly personal reflection on his relationships to books and book collecting and on his many visits to libraries around the world.