Please Enter a Search Term

Research News

Meet Memorial's newest Canada Research Chairs.

Memorial has hit a proverbial grand slam with the appointment of four professors as Canada Research Chairs (CRC), one of the country’s highest honours for research excellence. Memorial is now home to a total of 15 CRCs.

Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons is nominated for an ECMA in the category of Aboriginal Artist of the Year.

A new album funded through a research project based at Memorial has just been nominated for an East Coast Music Award (ECMA).

From left: Mark Ploughman, acting chief executive officer, RDC; Dr. Bettina Hamelin, vice-president of research partnerships, NSERC; and Dr. Richard Marceau, vice-president (research), Memorial.

A new federal-provincial partnership will fund research undertaken by Memorial and industrial partners aimed at supporting regional priorities. The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Research & Development Corporation of Newfoundland and Labrador (RDC) are partnering to fund innovative research and development projects.


Dr. Arn Keeling, Geography, is leading a team from Memorial that is working with Nordic researchers interested in resource extraction in the Arctic.

Nordic countries are looking west and to the research expertise of Memorial University as they look tap into the lucrative resources of the Arctic, widely considered the new frontier of extractive development.


Dr. Tom Gordon is leading a $7.4-million research project focused on protecting and preserving Labrador Inuit tradition and culture.

It was the first of many. And if the response was any indication, a research project led by Memorial and the Nunatsiavut Government has plenty of ideas on ways to protect and preserve Labrador Inuit tradition and culture.

ACENET's new CEO, Ann MacKenzie, has big plans to grow the organization.

Ann MacKenzie is big on numbers. The newly appointed CEO of ACENET, a consortium of universities in the region offering advanced research computing resources, has a clear vision to grow the 13-year-old organization.

Bruneau Centre for Research and Innovation on the St. John's campus.

Memorial is consulting with its internal stakeholders on proposed changes to a federal framework on research.

The first phase of the Memorial Researcher Portal launched today. During the Phase 1 launch of Memorial Researcher Portal, both internal and external researchers will be able to apply online to the following human research ethics boards:


The five-year term of Dr. Raymond Gosine as associate vice-president (research) expires in May 2016. Dr. Gosine has indicated that he wishes to be considered for reappointment for a second term. 


The five-year term of Dr. Raymond Gosine as Associate Vice President (Research) expires in May 2016. A 10-person review committee chaired by Dr. Richard Marceau, Vice-President (Research), has been established in accordance with the Procedures Governing the Appointment, Review, Promotion and Tenure of Academic Administrators.


The Memorial Researcher Portal is now accepting registration for new accounts and training sessions: . On Nov. 30, Memorial University will launch the first phase of the new portal, which is directed at researchers requiring approvals from human research ethics boards. The Phase Two launch scheduled for winter 2016.


Faculty members and graduate students from Memorial University are among the recipients of grants and scholarships awarded recently by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).

Bitters, Memorial’s Graduate Students Union's pub on the St. John's campus, was overflowing recently, not just with the usual beverages normally on tap, but with people eager to hear from three savvy business leaders.

Memorial University of Newfoundland has released the Strategic Internationalization Plan 2020, a plan with specific recommendations to guide the university in the implementation of a wide range of ambitious international and intercultural initiatives over the next several years.