Doctoral Coursework

Before writing their theses, all PhD candidates are required to complete 15 credit hours (5 courses) in graduate courses selected from the Courses listed below and including the following:

6000 Graduate Seminar (mandatory)

History of Philosophy Seminars
6011 Ancient and Medieval Philosophy
6012 Modern Philosophy
6013 Contemporary Philosophy

Area Seminars
6014 Metaphysics
6015 Theory of Knowledge
6016 Ethical and Political Theory

Tutorials (Reading Courses)
6040-6099 Special Topics
6101 Selected Texts
6102 Current Issues


Department of Philosophy

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000