Please Enter a Search Term

Neat Stuff You'll Want to Know

MUNmail provides a number of features that can help with oganization and efficiency. Some of these features are similar to the traditional elements of email that you are used to, but may have a slight twist. Below, find details on several items unique to Google Apps and how to use them.

 

Smart Phone and Mobile Setup: MUNmail makes it easy to set up a smart phone, or any mobile device, to get your email whereever and whenever you want it. Click here for a walkthrough on how to set up your phone.

Multiple Sign-in: Sign-in and switch between MUNmail and personal Gmail accounts with ease. By enabling, you will not have to sign out of your MUNmail account to check your personal Gmail account.

Labels: "Labels" in MUNmail are similar to folders in other mail clients, however they provide added benefits. One of these is that you can attach multiple labels to messages to help with organizing your mail.

Conversations: MUNmail can group all replies with their original message, creating a single conversation or thread. In other mail clients responses appear as separate messages in your inbox, forcing you to wade through all your mail to follow the conversation. Some people like this feature, some do not, however it is simple to switch this option on and off, please read below to find out how.











Multiple Sign-In

If you have a personal Gmail account (or multiple), you can enable a feature called "Multiple sign-in". This will allow you to sign into both your MUNmail email account and your personal account at the same time, and switch back and forth between them with the click of a button.

To enable Multiple Sign-in, follow these two steps:

First: Enable Multiple Sign-in

  1. Go to the multiple sign-in settings page. (this can also be found by clicking on "Account Settings" and looking for the "Multiple Sign-in" option.
  2. Sign in to your account.
  3. Select On to enable the multiple sign-in feature and select the checkboxes to confirm that you understand how to use multiple sign-in.
  4. Click Save changes.

Second: Signing into an additional account

After enabling the multiple sign-in feature, you must sign out of your account for the changes to take effect. Once signed back in:

  1. Click your name or email address at the top of the page.
  2. Click Sign in to another account...
  3. Enter the email address and password for the additional account you wish to sign in to.
  4. Click Sign in.
  5. If you sign out of any Google product while signed in to any account, you will be signed out of all your Google Accounts at once.

You can read more about each of these steps here:

Back to top

 

Labels

Labels do all the work folders do and give you an extra bonus: you can add more than one to a conversation. Once you've created a label, you can view all the messages with that label by searching, or by clicking the label name along the left side of any MUNmail page.

You can easily create, edit, and delete existing labels. Here's how:

To create a label

  1. Click the Labels drop-down menu or if you have keyboard shortcuts enabled, type l. Or, just click the gear icon >Mail settings > Labels.
  2. Select Create new.
  3. Type the name of your new label and click Ok

Any selected messages will automatically be categorized under your new label. If you'd like to keep organized, you can remove a labeled conversation from your inbox by archiving it and view it later by clicking All Mail, or by clicking the label name along the left side of any Gmail page.

To apply a label to a message, you can select the checkbox next to the message(s) in question, and then select the label name from the Labels drop-down menu (or you can label a single message while you're reading it by using the drop-down menu or the keyboard shortcut L). You can also drag a message to a label's name to move that message to a label.

To edit a label name

  1. Click the down-arrow to the left of the label.
  2. Select Rename.
  3. Enter the new label name, and click OK.

All the messages categorized under your old label name will now be categorized under your new label.

Organizing and deleting labels

You can control which labels appear in your list on the left.

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper-right and select Mail settings, then Labels
  2. In the 'Show in label list' column, click the 'show' or 'hide' link next to each label to choose whether it's listed. You can also set labels to appear only when they contain unread messages; otherwise, they'll be hidden.
  3. If you see a label you don't need anymore, you can always click remove in the 'Remove label' column. (You'll have to confirm that you'd like to remove the label by clicking Delete.

In the 'Show in message list' column, you can choose whether you'll see each label title displayed on the messages it contains; click hide if you don't want to see that label name when you look at the messages it contains.

You can also show, hide, or delete one label at a time by clicking the down-arrow to the left of that label.

Use the Move to drop-down menu or the keyboard shortcut v if you want to apply a label to a message and remove it from the current view at the same time.

Back to top

Conversations

Gmail groups all replies with their original message, creating a single conversation or thread. In other email systems, responses appear as separate messages in your inbox, forcing you to wade through all your mail to follow the conversation. In Gmail, replies to emails (and replies to those replies) are displayed in one place, in order, making it easier to understand the context of a message -- or to follow the conversation.

When you open one message in a conversation, all of your related messages will be stacked neatly on top of each other, like a deck of cards. We call this Conversation View. In Conversation View, each new message is stacked on top of the ones that arrived before it, so that the newest message is always the one you see first.

To see all the messages in a conversation, just click Expand all. Note that a conversation will break off into a new thread if the subject line of the conversation is changed, or if the conversation reaches over 100 messages.

If you'd like, you can change this setting so that replies aren't threaded into conversations, but appear as individual messages in your inbox. To do so:

Go to the General tab of your Gmail Settings
Select the radio button next to 'Conversation view off'.

Back to top

Share