Science holds first 3MT competition

Oct 29th, 2013

Kelly Foss

Robert Di Lorenzo and Morag Ryan.
Science holds first 3MT competition

Morag Ryan, Cognitive and Behavioural Ecology is the winner of the first Faculty of Science Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition.

The competition was held on Wednesday, Oct. 16 and was the first time Memorial took part in the event, which sees graduate students describe the critical parts of their thesis within a three minute time limit, using only a single presentation slide.

Robert Di Lorenzo of the Department of Chemistry took second prize.

The quality of the presentations was judged by a panel with no special background in the topic. The goal is to be able to highlight the importance of your thesis effectively to a non-scientist audience.

Additionally, the School of Graduate Studies hosted a university-wide competition on Monday, Oct. 21 which saw Kirk Luther, PhD, Psychology, take the top prize while Andrew Bullen, M.Sc., Medicine, was runner up. Stacy Phillips, M.Sc. Earth Sciences also received the People's Choice Award.



Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000