Testing balsam fir restoration treatments in 'spruce-moose' meadows

Over the past few years, experimental restoration to support Parks Canada Ecological Integrity targets in Terra Nova National Park was implemented by Dr. Luise Hermanutz, Department of Biology, and her graduate student, Louis Charron, with the support of park staff.

High school students put detective skills to work during lab field trip

Students from local high schools descended on the Department of Biochemistry recently to try out their scientific and detective skills.

For the first time, the department opened its doors to students from O’Donel and Holy Heart for a daylong field trip. It saw them role play as junior crime scene investigation agents tasked with determining if a local fisherman had a freezer full of flounder or near extinct Atlantic Bluefin tuna.


Local tech company receives $2 million in follow-on funding

HeyOrca knows that after delivering on your promises, the second most important factor in client retention is successful communications.

“Effective communication is vital to a successful client-marketing agency relationship,” said Joseph Teo, CEO, or, chief executive “orca” of the social media planning company and a graduate of Memorial’s Faculty of Business Administration.


Psychology researchers kick off unique study of young adults with cancer

A psychology researcher is partnering with Young Adult Cancer Canada (YACC) on the biggest young adult cancer study ever.

Dr. Sheila Garland and her research group will be the first to explore the physical, social, financial and emotional challenges faced by young adults diagnosed with cancer and compare them to their non-cancer peers.


Memorial partners with Dalhousie, NOAA on Gulf of Main expedition

From today, World Oceans Day, until June 22, Canadians have the opportunity to explore the ocean with world-leading researchers in the Gulf of Maine.

Oceana Canada will broadcast the expedition in real time as researchers from both sides of the border explore rare habitats and species at the bottom of the Atlantic ocean.


Swiss summer research position to focus on retinal degeneration cure

Lauren Winsor is one of 22 students with an international summer research position at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, known in English as the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne.


Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552