News Releases

REF NO.: 294

SUBJECT: Memorial University’s dean of Medicine to be honoured in Ontario
DATE: April 14, 2005

Dr. James Rourke, dean of Medicine at Memorial University of Newfoundland, will receive one of four 2004 College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) Council Awards on April 22, 2005. The Council Awards are presented at CPSO council to honour outstanding Ontario physicians who have demonstrated excellence and come closest to meeting society’s vision of an “ideal physician.” Dr. Rourke practiced in Goderich, Ontario, for 25 years and was assistant dean at The University of Western Ontario prior to moving to St. John’s in 2004 to become Memorial’s dean of Medicine.

Selection for the CPSO award is based on eight physician roles identified by Educating Future Physicians for Ontario project in 1993. These roles reflect the many needs and expectations of society and outline an archetype of the “ideal physician.” The identified roles are the physician as medical expert, communicator, collaborator, health advocate, learner, manager ("gatekeeper"), scholar/scientist, and the physician as person and professional.

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario seeks to recognize physicians whose performance in each of these roles is outstanding and the Council Award pays tribute to these exceptional physicians.

Dr. Rourke said that being selected for this award as one of four physicians in a province with more than 20,000 doctors is a real honour. He said it is particularly important that the very roles for which he is being paid tribute have been adapted as the CanMeds Competencies by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada to guide training programs at Memorial and across the country.“ It is more than knowledge and skills – these roles embody what we aspire to in training future physicians. That is why I find this award particularly meaningful.”

- 30 -