Department Contact Information

Listed below are the contacts for each of the Departments in the Humanities and Social Sciences faculty. Can't find what you're looking for? See also the listing for Interdisciplinary programs and Diploma Programs, or contact the Faculty office: hss@mun.ca (709-864-8254)

Anthropology
Dr. Kathleen Gordon, Head 864-8870 kgordon@mun.ca
Tina Scott, Admin. Secretary 864-8870 tscott@mun.ca
Archaeology
Dr. Barry Gaulton,  Head 864-8865

bgaulton@mun.ca

Fran Banfield, Admin. Program Assistant 864-8869 fbanfield@mun.ca
Classics
Dr. Tana Allen, Head 864-8593 tallen@mun.ca
Cathy Kieley, Admin. Secretary 864-8593 ckieley@mun.ca
Economics
Dr. Wade Locke, Head 864-8248 wlocke@mun.ca
Susan Curtis, Admin. Secretary 864-8248 sacurtis@mun.ca
English
Dr. Jennifer Lokash, Head 864-8277 jlokash@mun.ca
Tina Power, Int. Secretary 864-8277 tmpower@mun.ca
Folklore
Dr. Cory Thorne, Head 864-6211 coryt2@mun.ca
Elaine St. Croix, Admin. Secretary 864-8403 efscroix@mun.ca
Gender Studies
Dr. Sonia Boon, Head 864-3322 sboon@mun.ca
Joan Butler, Admin. Secretary 864-3322 joanb@mun.ca
Geography
Dr. Norm Catto, Head 864-7417 ncatto@mun.ca
Valarie James, Int. Secretary 864-7417 vjames@mun.ca
History
Dr. Terry Bishop-Stirling, Head 864-8420 tstirling@mun.ca
Renee Clowe, Int. Secretary 864-8420 rclowe@mun.ca
Linguistics
Dr. Phil Branigan, Head 864-3017 branigan@mun.ca
Peggy Nixon, Admin Secretary 864-8134 pnixon@mun.ca
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures    
Dr. Philippe Basabose, Co-Head 864-7637 basabose@mun.ca
Dr. John Buffinga, Co-Head 864-4767 johnb@mun.ca
Heather O'Brien, Int. Secretary 864-7636 hobrien@mun.ca
Philosophy
Dr. Sean McGrath, Head 864-8336 smcgrath@mun.ca
Ann Marie Gushue, Admin. Secretary 864-8336 agushue@mun.ca
Political Science
Dr. Luke Ashworth, Head 864-8179 lashworth@mun.ca
Helen Knapman, Admin. Secretary 864-8179 hknapman@mun.ca
Religious Studies
Dr. Kim Parker, Head 864-8166 kparker@mun.ca
Annette Sullivan, Admin. Secretary 864-8166 acarter@mun.ca
Sociology
Dr. Ailsa Craig, Head 864-7457 acraig@mun.ca
Melissa Petten, Secretary 864-7443 sociology@mun.ca