Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic) News

Memorial University of Newfoundland has released the Strategic Internationalization Plan 2020, a plan with specific recommendations to guide the university in the implementation of a wide range of ambitious international and intercultural initiatives over the next several years.

Know an excellent teacher? Nominations for the President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching, and Graduate and Postgraduate Supervision are now being accepted.

On Jan. 23, senior academic leaders, faculty, staff, students and administrators gathered to discuss undergraduate enrolment planning for the St. John’s campus as part of the implementation of Enrolment Plan 2020.

Senior academic leaders, faculty, staff, students and administrators gathered on Jan. 23 to discuss undergraduate enrolment planning for the St. John’s campus as part of the implementation of Enrolment Plan 2020, a plan that will guide Memorial towards the achievement of enrolments targets while focusing on the quality of the student experience. 

Applications are now being accepted for the Vice-Presidents’ Council Cross-Campus Initiatives Fund and Conference Fund. Proposals for both applications must be submitted by Monday, Feb. 16, 2015.

Rex Coffin has been appointed director, Ancillary Operations, and Bruce Belbin has been appointed director, Student Residences.

The new Chairs in Teaching and Learning program will provide a faculty-level structure to promote new initiatives in teaching and learning

Memorial University has begun its search for a new provost and vice-president (academic). A search committee has been established and has been working through the search process during the late fall.

At the December 4, 2014 meeting of the Board of Regents, a proposal for the implementation of phases two and three of the realignment of the Deputy Provost (Students) portfolio was approved. Read more....

Dr Gaudine

Dr. Alice Gaudine has been appointed dean of Memorial University’s School of Nursing, effective Dec. 5, 2014, for a five-year term.


Memorial University has launched its 2014 research report, which features the extraordinary and impactful work of Memorial students and researchers.

Memorial University has released its annual report, titled Face Forward: President’s Report 2014

Memorial University researchers received two of five national research awards presented today, one of them regarded as the highest honour a researcher can receive in the social sciences and humanities.

Memorial is moving toward a more sustainable model of co-operative education which will use resources in more effective and efficient ways than the previous model.


Dr. Wilfred Zerbe has been renewed as dean of the Faculty of Business Administration for a second five-year term, effective January 2015.

Dr. Richard Marceau, vice-president (research), released a draft of the Strategic Internationalization Plan 2020 on Tuesday, Sept.16, 2014, for university-wide feedback. 

Memorial’s Board of Regents approved the Enrolment Plan 2020 and the Strategic Research Intensity Plan 2014-20, a set of initiatives that will launch forth new and innovative recommendations to help the university become one of the most graduate-intensive and research-intensive universities in Canada by the end of 2020-21. 

A new steering committee, commissioned by the provost and vice-president (academic), Dr. David Wardlaw, will lead consultations for the development of a Strategic Internationalization Plan. The steering committee and the process for creating the plan were approved by the Vice-Presidents Council at a meeting on May 26, 2014.

The 2014-2015 proposals for Classroom Teaching Infrastructure Development (CTIDF) have been evaluated and 24 projects will receive funding. 


Deputy Provost (Students) and Associate Vice-President (Academic) Undergraduate Studies announces panel visits and call for written submissions.

At the May 8th meeting of the Board of Regents, a proposal for a three-phased administrative realignment of the deputy provost (students) portfolio was approved, including a detailed plan for phase one. 

Memorial University's new Student Code of Conduct is effective May 12, 2014.

For more information, visit


In fall 2013, four Visioning Groups were formed to consider specific sets of recommendations in the External Review Report regarding the portfolio of the Deputy Provost (Students) and Associate Vice-President (Academic) Undergraduate Studies. The reports focus on the following areas: Health and Wellness; Housing and Ancillary Services; Office of the Registrar; and Student Affairs and Services. The reports are now available for review on the provost’s website.

Today, Dr. David Wardlaw, provost and vice-president (academic), is releasing an advanced draft of the Enrolment Plan 2020 for university-wide feedback.

Dr. Carlo Marra has been appointed as a professor and the new dean of the School of Pharmacy at Memorial University.

Dr. Donna Hardy Cox has been appointed dean of the School of Social Work for a five-year term. 

Dr. Mark Abrahams was renewed as dean of the Faculty of Science for a second five-year term effective Sept. 1.