Please Enter a Search Term

Welcome to the Department of Philosophy

Memorial's Department of Philosophy offers a thriving intellectual community where students are invited to explore the nature and problems of human existence and human thought.



The Department of Philosophy Presents "Immanuel Kant... And the Enlightenment" Colloquium, May 1, 2014.  Keynote Speakers:  Samuel Fleischacker, University of Illinois at Chicago and Claude Piche, Universite De Montreal.

The Department of Philosophy Presents The Bradley Memorial Lectures in Philosophy.  "Rethinking Autonomy Feminism and Beyond", Wednesday, April 23, 2014 in A1046 from 4:00-5:30.

The Department of Philosophy Presents "Civil Disobedience, Transcendence in Political Philosophy" by Prof. Maeve Cooke (Dublin), April 22, 2014 in A1046 from 3:00-5:00pm

The Department of Philosophy Presents "Compromise and Conscientious Refusal"  Thursday February 27, 4 pm A1046.

THE ST. JOHN'S PUBLIC LECTURES IN PHILOSOPHY, 29 Oct, 8:30 pm at the Ship Pub: Ray Critch, "Beyond Banality: Evil and Badness"

Per Course Instructor Positions Available for Spring 2014.

DEPARTMENT MEETING AND GREET: Wed 30 Oct, 1 pm in Arts 3020.

THE ST. JOHN'S PUBLIC LECTURES IN PHILOSOPHY, 16TH SERIES, START UP: Philosophy's Peter Gratton began this year's Public Lecture Series, Tues 24 Sept, 8:30-10 at the Ship Pub, with a lecture on: "The State of Terror and thePromise of Democracy".

JOCKEY CLUB started up, Friday, Sept. 20th., 2013. Jockey is the Department's discussion group, which includes faculty, students, other members of the University, and members of the St. John's community. Please contact the Department if you are interested in attending.



NEW FACULTY: The Department welcomes several new members of faculty. Most recently Joël Madore joined the Memorial faculty this fall. He specializes in contemporary French philosophy, political philosophy and ethics, and Kant. Scott Johnston, pragmatism and Kant and post-Kantian expert, joined us in January 2013 as a joint appointment between Philosophy and the Faculty of Education. The Department also has several cross-appointed faculty, including Walter Okshevsky (Education), Jennifer Flynn (Medicine), Chris Kaposy (Medicine) and Daryl Pullman (Medicine).

NEW PHD IN PHILOSOPHY: The Philosophy Department is pleased to announce that it has a new doctoral program in philosophy. The Department welcomes four doctoral students into the program: Michael Austin, Vahid Jafarzadehdarzi, Michelle Mahoney, and Gil Shalev.

STUDENT HONOURS: The winner of the Gold Medal in Philosophy (given at convocation in May) was Melanie Hurley, who also won the Gold Medal in English. Melanie, one of our outstanding students generally, was also for several years the organizer/Pope of the Department's discussion group, the Jockey Club. Congratulations, Melanie!

Click here for archived news»