35th Annual Alumni Tribute Awards

Thursday, Oct 13, 2016 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Join us for our 35th annual Alumni Tribute Awards which recognizes outstanding alumni of Memorial University for their excellence. 

 2016 Award Winners

Alumnus of the Year: Mark Dobbin.

Mr. Dobbin is a leader in the business community, as well as a dedicated volunteer and philanthropist. He has made an enduring impact on the business growth of Newfoundland and Labrador, both as an entrepreneur and through the guidance and expertise he has shared with the boards of many companies. Mr. Dobbin got his start in the aerospace industry at the age of 21 rising to the position of senior vice-president with CHC Helicopters, a company which he ultimately chaired. He was chair and CEO of Vector Aerospace Corporation for five years and is currently the president of Killick Capital Inc.

J.D. Eaton Alumni Award: Karl Smith
Karl Smith is this year’s recipient of the J.D. Eaton Alumni Award, which recognizes outstanding volunteer contributions to Memorial. An accomplished businessman, Mr. Smith is currently the executive vice-president and chief financial officer of Fortis Inc. Notable among a lifelong volunteer relationship with Memorial is his work to establish the Calgary Affinity Newfoundland and Labrador dinner, a highly successful fundraising event for scholarships at Memorial.

Alumni Horizon Award: Morgan MacDonald
Morgan MacDonald is this year’s Alumni Horizon Award recipient and is being recognized for exceptional achievement by a Memorial graduate under the age of 35. A highly acclaimed sculptor, Mr. MacDonald established the Newfoundland Bronze Foundry in 2005, now the largest shop of its kind in Eastern Canada. He is well known for iconic bronze works that include The Rower at Quidi Vidi Lake in St. John’s, and the Danger Tree sculpture, a piece dedicated and installed in Corner Brook to mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Beaumont-Hamel.

Outstanding Community Service Award: Christopher Nolan
Christopher Nolan is this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Community Service Award. Mr. Nolan is a supervisor with the health centre in Hall Beach, Nunavut, and this work carries over into his volunteer life. One of his many volunteer commitments includes an eight-year relationship with the Ottawa-based Canada-Africa Community Health Alliance. This work takes Mr. Nolan to Tanzania each year for two weeks, where he helps provide treatment and other services to those most in need in that country.

Ticket Prices: $126 per person (Includes all taxes plus a $1 service fee)

Table Sizes: 8 or 10 people per table

Parking: Sheraton Newfoundland charges a $5 flat parking fee for those parking on site.

Contact(s): Cherry Ralhan | 709-864-2029 | cralhankhanna@mun.ca

Online Registration: This event has already taken place. Thank you for your interest.


Steele Communications Logo Johnson Inc. Logo

The Telegram Logo MBNA Logo

Newfoundland Power Logo

KPMG Logo RBC Logo
Google Map
Add to Calendar 10-13-2016 18:0010-13-2016 21:002335th Annual Alumni Tribute Awards

Join us for our 35th annual Alumni Tribute Awards which recognizes outstanding alumni of Memorial University for their excellence.

Sheraton Hotel NewfoundlandMM/DD/YYYY