Academic Advice

Students with general questions about possible degree programs, degree requirements and academic advice in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences should contact:

Renée Shute
Manager of Academic Programs, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
8:30 am – 4:30 pm Monday to Friday
8:30 am – 4:00 pm during the summer (June, July, August)
AA-4077 (Arts and Administration)
864-7454
rshute@mun.ca

First year students are encouraged to contact the Academic Advising Centre with questions.

Students looking for advice in declaring a particular major within the Faculty of Arts or students looking for advice on course selection for their declared majors should contact the Undergraduate Liaison in the department of their major for assistance.

Undergraduate Liaisons 2016-2017

DepartmentNameE-Mail AddressPhoneRoom
AnthropologyDr. Lincoln Addisonladdison@mun.ca864-7818QC4014
ArchaeologyDr. Oscar Moroomoro@mun.ca864-3439QC4019
ClassicsDr. Luke Romanromanl@mun.ca864-8910A2063
Communication Studies (English)Dr. Jamie Skidmoreskidmore@mun.ca864-8404A3027B
Economics

Dr. Nikita Lyssenko (Winter)

nlysenko@mun.ca864-2149A3096
EnglishDr. Donna Walshdonnaw@mun.ca864-8037A3010
Folklore

Dr. Mariya Lesiv

mlesiv@mun.ca864-4417A4049
FrenchDr. Magessa O'Reillymoreilly@mun.ca864-8580SN4029
Gender StudiesDr. Carol Lynne D’Arcangeliscarollynneda@mun.ca864-2007SN4077
GeographyDr. Norm Cattoncatto@mun.ca864-7417SN2012A
GermanDr. John Buffingajohnb@mun.ca864-8826SN3057
HistoryDr. Marica Cassismcassis@mun.ca864-7650A4008
Law & Society (Political Science)Dr. Christina Doonancdoonan@mun.ca864-7413SN2043
LinguisticsDr. Philip Braniganbranigan@mun.ca864-3017SN3050C
Medieval Studies (Philosophy)Dr. Sean McGrathsmcgrath@mun.ca864-2668A3070
PhilosophyDr. Joel Madorejoel.madore@mun.ca864-8340A3098
Police Studies (Sociology)Dr. Alan Hallalanh@mun.ca864-4592A4064
Political ScienceDr. Kelly Blidookkblidook@mun.ca864-8184SN2042
Religious StudiesDr. Barry Stephensonbstephenson@mun.ca864-8113A5026
RussianDr. Stuart Durrantjsdurrant@mun.ca864-8641 SN3059
SociologyDr. Sean Waiteswaite@mun.ca864-4598A4082
SpanishDr. Myriam Osoriomosorio@mun.ca864-4502SN4045

Contact

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552

becomestudent@mun.ca