Please Enter a Search Term


Angela Hyde, a MD-PhD student in the Faculty of Medicine, has received a publication award from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. The $1,000 award is one of 12 given annually by the Institute of Cancer Research for publications. These prizes are geared to trainees who contribute to the advancement of cancer research. The publication is titled A histology-based model for predicting microsatellite instability in colorectal cancer. It was published in December 2010 in the American Journal of Surgical Pathology. Ms. Hyde was the first author and the other authors are Dr. Dan Fontaine, Susan Stuckless, Dr. Roger Green, Dr. Aaron Pollett, a pathologist at the University of Toronto, Michelle Simms, Payal Sipahimalani, and Ms. Hyde’s co-supervisors Dr. Pat Parfrey and Dr. Ban Younghusband.

Dr. Don Deibel, Ocean Sciences Centre, delivered a presentation at the fifth International Zooplankton Production Symposium in Pucón, Chile. His talk was titled Evolutionary Relationships and Life History Characteristics of the Planktonic Tunicates (Appendicularia, Salpa and Doliolida).