Please Enter a Search Term


Four faculty members and two students with MUN’s School of Pharmacy won awards at the Pharmacists’ Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (PANL) conference Oct. 2-4, 2009. Dr. Linda Hensman, director of the School of Pharmacy, received the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) Alf Dawe Distinguished Service Award for her support and commitment to CSHP, especially the Newfoundland and Labrador branch. Dr. Scott Edwards received the Leadership in Pharmacy Practice Award from CSHP-NL branch for his many contributions to clinical pharmacy. The Wyeth Apothecary Award was presented to Dr. Stephanie Young. This award recognizes pharmacists who have completed specialty education or training and who, as a result, have successfully expanded their professional practice. The J. Frank Janes Meritorious Service Award went to St. John’s pharmacist and Memorial faculty member Dr. Deborah Kelly. The Ralph J. Harris Future of Pharmacy Award was presented to Sarah Strong, a third-year pharmacy student. This scholarship and travel bursary is presented to a student who exudes enthusiasm and passion for the future of pharmacy, is a visionary, involved in community volunteer work and offers extraordinary promise to the profession. The PANL Student Spirit Award was presented to Jonathan Edwards, a third-year pharmacy student. This scholarship and travel bursary is presented to a student who has made contributions to the association through activities with PANL as a volunteer, committee member or supporter.

The Board of Regents approved the following appointments: Dr. Mark Tate as head of the Department of Anthropology for a three-year term; Dr. Peter Pope, appointed interim head of the Department of Archaeology for an eight-month period to allow for the completion of the search process; Dr. John Jamieson appointed acting chair of the Discipline of Anesthesia until the search process is completed; Dr. William Pollett appointed acting chair of the Discipline of Surgery for a two-month period ending Oct. 31; Dr. Darrell Boone appointed Chair of the Discipline of Surgery for a five-year term beginning Nov. 1, 2009.

Elizabeth Ohle, a standardized patient educator with the Faculty of Medicine’s Standardized Patient Program, was recently elected to the board of directors of the Association of Standardized Patient Educators, an international organization of colleagues using standardized patient methodology in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, social work and numerous other disciplines around the world.

Political Science student Erin Aylward is the 2009 winner of the Larry Collins prize for a paper titled Critical Empowerment: Assessing the Politics of Active Citizenship which she initially submitted as the essay component of POSC 4600 Public Policy Work Internship. The Collins award is given annually by the Atlantic Provinces Political Science Association (APPSA). The announcement was made at the October 2009 APPSA conference in Wolfville, N.S.