Please Enter a Search Term


The Memorial connection

Memorial University friends and alumni were well represented among the top 50 CEOs in Atlantic Canada. While the lion’s share of awards went to Nova Scotia, with 28 winners from that province, 12 CEOs honoured are from Newfoundland and Labrador and the majority of them have ties to Memorial University.
Award winners Ken Bennett, president of Johnson Corporation; Nora M. Duke, president and CEO of Fortis Properties; Christopher Hickman, chairman and CEO of Marco Group of Companies; Earl Ludlow, president and CEO of Newfoundland Power; and Stephen Winter, president and CEO of Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation, are all graduates of Memorial’s Faculty of Business Administration.

The Advisory Board of the Faculty of Business Administration counts a number of top CEOs among its ranks. Current board members Bernard (Tanny) Collins, president of PF Collins International Trade Solutions, and Allison Chaytor-Loveys, CEO of Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union, were recognized for their managerial excellence and leadership abilities. Cathy Bennett, CEO of Bennett Group of Companies; Frank Coleman, president and CEO Coleman Group of Companies; Stephen Winter and Ken Bennett have each served on the Advisory Board.

Engineering professor recognized

Dr. Dennis Peters received the IEEE Canada J.J. Archambault Eastern Canada Merit Award in recognition of his dedicated and distinguished service to the profession at the 23rd annual Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering (CCECE) in Calgary on May 3.

Dr. Peters, an associate professor and chair of the electrical and computer engineering discipline in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, has been an active member of IEEE for more than 20 years.

He has served on the Newfoundland and Labrador Section executive committee continuously since 1999, including a term as chair from 2002-03. He has also served on the organizational committees for local, national and international conferences, including co-chair of the Technical Program Committee for CCECE 2009. He also takes an active role in the engineering profession, serving on the Board of Examiners for the Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador (PEGNL), and as a member of the Canadian Engineering Qualifications Board.

Dr. Peters’ research area involves techniques for design and verification of software and computer systems, with particular focus on real-time applications and parallel or distributed processing. He joined Memorial University in 1998.

The Archambault Award is given to exceptional IEEE volunteers recognized for meritorious service in eastern Canada at the local IEEE Section and Area level.

Education students receive vote of confidence

At some point it is likely that each student in the Faculty of Education will ask themselves: “Am I going to be a good teacher?”

For the past three years the Sisters of Mercy and Presentation have been giving a $5,000 vote that says: “Yes, you will.”

This year, the organization offered five scholarships of $1,000 each, open to all students in the Faculty of Education registered during the 2009-10 academic year. Danielle Benoit, Cedric Davignon, Michael Eagles, Jeff Foran and Darlene Holwell walked away with an affirmation of their abilities thanks to the rewards, which were presented on June 16.

An open call for papers was issued this winter, announcing the scholarship opportunity. Students were invited to submit a 750-word essay considering personal values and goals pertaining to effective teaching.

In 2007, the Congregations of the Sisters of the Presentation and the Sisters of Mercy created an education fund to support a variety of educational projects provincially, nationally and internationally.