Please Enter a Search Term

Grenfell governance update

The implementation of changes that mark a new era for Sir Wilfred Grenfell College (SWGC), Memorial’s campus in Corner Brook, is underway.

Chaired by Dr. Christopher Loomis, president pro tempore, the Task Force on a Renewed Governance Structure for Sir Wilfred Grenfell College has created a number of committees to undertake the important work related to academics, administration and finance, research, and communications and nomenclature [see below for list of committee members].

The committees have been given a mandate to identify areas which require change, to examine and document the implications involved in such changes and to make recommendations to the task force for change. Management changes will require the approval of the president.

Policy changes will require the approval of the Board of Regents, subject to recommendations from the existing ad hoc Committee to Strengthen Governance of the Board of Regents.

Committee on Academic Matters
This committee is co-chaired by Dr. Reeta Tremblay, vice-president (academic) pro tempore, and Dr. Holly Pike, acting vice-president of Grenfell. It includes two sub-committees.

The first sub-committee includes Roxanne Millan, Dr. David Peddle, Morgan Cooper and Dr. Bill lams. Its mandate is to review the process relating to appointments, promotion and tenure decisions, leaves, LUMUN appointments, term appointments, classroom infrastructure funding, inter-collaboratlve fund and funding for graduate students.

The second sub-committee consists of Paul Chancey, Dr. Paul Wilson and Sheila Singleton. Its mandate is to review all processes related to academic programming, senate committees, committees related to academic programming and setting up research institutes. In addition, it will examine how academic programs are reviewed.

Committee on Finance and Administration
The Finance and Administration Committee consists of chairs Dennis Waterman, director of administration and finance, SWGC, and Kent Decker, vice-president (administration and finance). Committee members include: Debbie Collis, Brian Duffy, Lori Pike, Mike Fowler, Sharon Walsh, Javis Hulan, Darrell Miles, Graham Mowbray, Randy Rowsell and Wendy Hackett.

The mandate of the committee is to examine all aspects of the financial and administrative operations of SWGC and to make recommendations for positive change.

Committee on Research
The research committee is co-chaired by Dr. Ray Gosine, vice-president (research) pro tempore, and Dr. Ivan Emke, associate vice-principal (research), SWGC. Members include David Miller, Dean Strickland, Craig Perchard and Peter Davis.

The committee is focusing on the services related to research administration that are shared between Memorial’s campuses in St. John's and Corner Brook. Its guiding principles include access to and efficiency of research administration and support, and adherence to all applicable rules and procedures of funding agencies.

Committee on Communications and Nomenclature
The communications and nomenclature committee is co-chaired by Jo-Anne Philpott, co-ordinator of Community Education and College Relations, SWGC, and Victoria Collins, executive director, Marketing and Communications. Members of the committee include Pamela Gill, Ivan Muzychka, Julie Pitcher and Jeff Hulan.

The committee’s mandate is two-fold. The first is to examine the renaming of Sir Wilfred Grenfell College to enhance its new identity within Memorial University. Public consultations on this matter have already taken place in Corner Brook and St. John’s. The second is to make recommendations on how to brand and market the Corner Brook campus in order to increase student enrolment.

The task force has also commenced the process of staffing a secretariat to augment the administrative resources at Grenfell. The secretariat includes a director, associate director of administration and finance, associate director of communications and executive assistant. The task force expects to announce the new team soon.