Please Enter a Search Term

Seeking nominations for community service award

Nominations are currently being accepted for a special award honouring Memorial University staff and faculty for their work in the community.

The President’s Award for Exceptional Community Service recognizes employees who are involved in helping by sharing scientific and scholarly expertise, by working with and supporting grassroots groups, and by volunteering their time to worthy causes, among other things.

Dr. Jeremy Hall was the 2009 winner and Dr. Wade Locke was the 2008 recipient. Dr. Hall was honoured for his work volunteering thousands of hours giving tours along the Manuels River and designing educational material for the Johnson GEO Centre while Dr. Locke was recognized for his sustained public efforts at educating the public about important policy issues.

“The President’s Award for Exceptional Community Service recognizes the important link between the university and the community,” said Dr. Christopher Loomis, president pro tempore. “Sharing our expertise to help build a stronger Newfoundland and Labrador is an important part of our mandate, so I encourage people to nominate a Memorial staff or faculty member who devotes time and energy to making a difference.”

This year’s deadline is June 30, 2010.

Nominees must have a sustained pattern of exceptional voluntary contributions to communities or organizations. These activities must be beyond what might normally be considered academic or professional service, and must have had a significant impact upon those organizations or on communities.

In order to be considered, nominees must be full-time employees with a minimum of five years of continuous service and have made the cited community contributions while working at the university.

Nominees cannot be previous winners of the award. The award will consist of a personalized scroll and a monetary award of $1,000.

Details about nominations can be found online at

The honour is just one of several presented by Memorial’s president, saluting the dedication of the university's faculty and staff. Awards for distinguished teaching, exemplary service to the university, and outstanding research are also presented each fall.

Each award category underlines Memorial’s mission of innovation and excellence in teaching and learning, research and scholarship and service to the community.

Winners will be recognized at a special ceremony that is usually held in November.