Please Enter a Search Term

Dean awarded for outstanding contribution to education

By Heidi Wicks

Dr. David Dibbon, dean of Memorial’s Faculty of Education, was honoured with the Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association (NLTA) Patricia Cowan Award, at the organization’s Biennial Convention on April 16. The award recognizes outstanding contributions and/or support for education by groups or individuals outside the K-12 school system.

Previous to becoming dean of Education, Dr. Dibbon worked in the public school system as a teacher and school administrator. He has been an advocate for the cause of public education since the early days of his career.

“I’m committed to research focused on making the school system a better place for students to learn and for teachers to work,” Dr. Dibbon said. “When I left the school system (10 years ago) to work at the university one of the goals I set for myself was to do work that could contribute to improving the working conditions for teachers and learning conditions for students.

"So, practical utility has always been a measure of how I judge my own work. For this organization to acknowledge that this work has had a positive impact on teaching and learning in the province is a tremendous honour."

Dr. Dibbon’s areas of research interest include organizational learning, leadership and learning, teacher supply and demand, online learning communities, teacher working conditions, new teacher transitions and other policy-related initiatives. He has presented his findings in these areas locally, nationally and internationally.

An elected member of the Eastern School District Board of Trustees, Dr. Dibbon was recipient of the Distinguished Principal of the Year award from the Canadian Association of Principals in 1999.