Please Enter a Search Term

Gregory J. Power Poetry Competition

campus pond
The Jeroboam and Gregory J. Power Prizes for Poetry were awarded at a ceremony held on April 6th in the Inco Innovation Centre's Beatrice Watts Boardroom. Head of the English Department, Dr. Faith Balisch spoke about Gregory Power and the origins of the Prize given in his name, and Gregory Power Jr. was on hand to award them. Peter Walsh, one of those responsible for establishing the Jeroboam Award, did the honours for that prize. CBC Radio recorded readings of the winning poems for subsequent broadcast on Weekend Arts Magazine, and Roger's videotaped the proceedings for use on "Out of the Fog."
The judges for this year's competition, Susan Ingersoll, Jennifer Lokash, and Patrick Warner, selected the following poems for the awards:
Jeroboam Prize (for a poem on a Newfoundland theme) for his poem "Before Going Out (Two Tankas)"went to Randy Drover
Power Award Winners:
1st prize, for her poem "The tiny red maple we found while blueberry picking"
went to Jody-Beth Lee
2nd Prize for her poem "Weaning"
went to Lynette Adams
3rd Prize for her poem "Seagull"
went Kirsten Haynes