www.mun.ca | about this report | contact  
Vital Signs
* Teaching
Distinguished Teachers

Professor of Music
Awarded High Honour

Aquaculturist of the Year

Education Professor Receives Award

Engineering Professor Honoured

National Honour for Chemistry Prof

New Online Program to Support Rural Doctors

BSc in Environmental Physics

Canadian Association of Physicists: New President

Campus Life
Honour Roll

Dr. M. Morrow Elected President of the Canadian Association of Physicists

Dr. Michael Morrow, Professor and former Head in the Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography, was elected President of the Canadian Association of Physicists at the last Annual Congress, held at the University of Manitoba in June of 2004.

The Canadian Association of Physics (CAP) is a national organization of physicists with over 1500 members. In addition to organizing the Annual Congress the CAP undertakes a wide range of activities in support of physics education and, in conjunction with other Canadian scientific societies, meets regularly with parliamentarians, parliamentary advisers and science journalists to raise awareness of issues of importance to the scientific community

Dr. Morrow's election as President of the CAP is particularly timely as 2005 marks the 100th anniversary of Einstein's “miraculous” year and has been designated by the UN as the International Year of Physics. In addition it is also the 60th anniversary of the CAP. With many national events planned, it will be exciting and busy year.

{Printer Friendly}